Braised Green Beans with Fried Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
This was ok. If I had ordered it at a restaurant I wouldn't have been upset with it, but I also wouldn't order it again. Both my husband and I thought it was on the bland side, and we thought that the addition of a large amount of garlic would help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OtisMcGinty
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I came across this recipe to use my Tofu w/ green beans. LOL... then I realized I only had snow pea pods. I also substituted a shot of Vodka for the dry wine. Honestly, it was cold out and I didn't want to go to the store. With a couple shortcuts I made, this recipe still came out "Fantastic!" I posted a picture of it also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Absolutely delicious-I had to double the recipe though. My kids LOVE tofu! This was even better than most dishes you get in a restaurant. My teenage son is looking forward to cooking this himself very soon. Thanks so much for posting-this has become a family favorite. Soooo goood!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Bern, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
yum! Even my kids who "don't like tofu" liked this. I didn't have any white wine on hand so I just subbed water for that, and it was still very tasty. I will definitely make this again - served over brown rice (I omitted the rice and used splenda instead of sugar for a very tasty low carb dinner). Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Loved this. Simple. Flexible - many different veggies can be used. Tasty. My vegetarian family loved this - even the baby! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
This was pretty good. I cooked the tofu in a little bit of oil instead of deep frying it. And poured the dish over soba noodles instead of rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
Delicious! This is a favorite of mine. It's so light yet filling and the flavor is amazing. I've even made this for my vegetarian friends by substituting in vegetable broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystallynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oswego, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
We did not care for this at all, and i even followed the directions. We ended up, unfortunately, eating out instead. My family and i eat Vietnamese food regularly and this was nothing i've ever tasted before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kasey Evans

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Delicious. I made it with tofu for my vegetarian guest, but this will be fantastic also with meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
I skipped deep-frying the tofu and mixed it into the sauce (I used silken tofu for softness,) served it over black rice and it turned out great! My family isn't used to eating tofu, so they weren't sure about it at first, but they cleaned their bowls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew Perrett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pacifica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States