Braised Flank Steak with Lemon and Garlic Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
I made this today, and was actually really good. My son said to save the recipe and he wants it again soon. The meat was so tender, and the flavors were tasty. The best part of it was that it was a very easy recipe. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
As an alternative to braising....try marinating for a few hours and grilling. So so tender and full of flavor. I bought the pack of flap steaks from Costco. line them up in a baking dish to season and marinate. Use black magic seasoning salt, onion powder, garlic powder and olive oil. Turn over with tongs and do the same. Season generously. i let them marinate for 4 hours.....then grill to med or med rare. Totally surprised at how tender and deish they are!!! Seve with corn on the cob, arugula, cranberry and brie salad and twice baked. stuffed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pmchefsherry
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
This is a great simple and delicious recipe. Thanks for sharing. We will definitely be making this one again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Anyone who did not give this at least 4 stars cannot have made it right. This recipe is amazing. Substituted the cloves with nutmeg and I added a lot more black pepper since I like the spicier flavor. Very good recipe. Also when frying the steak I only left in on for about 30 seconds per side, the recipe asks for 3 mins but there is no need to cook it that much when you are going to braise it for 1 1/2 hours anyway. Just give it some color and keep moving, Made this with chuck steak which is way cheaper and it gave a flavor to the chuck steak that was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
This was excellent. I followed the directions as listed, but tripled the recipe for my large fam. My only addition was a little cornstarch to thicken up the gravy a bit. Very good & going in our favs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelabella

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florence, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
The meat turned out very tender and flavorful. My picky husband loved it. I've also substituted white wine and beef broth when I didn't have chicken broth. The white wine came out well, but the beef broth did not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
This is the first steak I've made that you only needed a fork to eat!! So tender and juicy. I'll be making it again soon. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Delicious and sooooo easy! I used an electric pan by Americraft that cut the simmering time in half. I did add lots of finely chopped garlic and slivered yellow onions. My boyfriend loved it!!!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
The spousal unit (a.k.a., Lefty) came home with 2 1/2 pounds of flap meat the other day and I had no clue what to do with it. But this was great. I only had beef broth in the house and it worked just fine. I thickened the sauce a little for texture and served with rice and corn. Darn good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lost Southern Boy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Bern, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Not good at all. Sauce was boring and not the least bit flavorful. Might be a good starter recipe, but needs a lot of work. If you have an advanced palate, I would not recommend this dish. ***Personal attacks against my reviews are not welcome. I can not help if your dish was inedible. Stalking my page and saying that I gave a false review is incorrect. I tried a dish that I thought sounded wonderful, and given your "expert" rating, I had high expectations. Unfortunately,those expectations were not met. It looks like I wasn't the only one who was disappointed in this dish.***
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Grilled Garlic Fennel Flank Steak with Oranges

See how to make flavorful flank steak with grilled oranges.

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Sirloin Steak with Garlic Butter

See how to make grilled sirloin steak with a luscious garlic and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States