Braised Corned Beef Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
This turned out really good, like others I wrapped it tightly in foil. I do have one complaint. I don't understand adding Kitchen Bouquet prior to searing it. When searing it the juices from the meat come out and the Kitchen Bouquet covers the searing pan. Then it just burned, smoked, and smelled terrible. It also ruined the pan I was using. Next time I'll sear first and then coat it with a little Kitchen Bouquet. In the end it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SeattleDuck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
This recipe, plus GeoCarter's comment gave me some good ideas! The day before St. Patrick's, and after I got home from work, I cut off most - but not all - of the fat from my flat-corned beef brisket, put on top of 2 Tablespoons of coconut oil (you can use olive) in my 8 qt. pot, covering it with water. Brought water to boil, then turned-down to low simmer for 90 minutes per lb. After that, I simmered it another 30 minutes with clean, red potato wedges and peeled and chopped carrots. Then, I added the chopped cabbage and simmered it another 15 minutes. Turned off the stove and left it there, covered tightly, overnight. I did this because my husband prefers well-cooked veggies, so I wasn't worried about them being too soft. On St. Patrick's Day and after I got home from work, I spooned out the veggies (that WEREN'T over-cooked or falling apart) in a separate 3 qt pan, placing brisket in a buttered 9"x 13" glass pan, fat side up. I made a topper for it consisting of: 1/4 cup of spicy-brown mustard, 1/4 cup of dark-brown sugar, 1/4 cup butter, 3 Tablespoons of creamy horseradish, 1 Tablespoon of red pepper flakes, 1 teaspoon of black pepper and 3/4 cup of Panko bread crumbs. Spread that over it, spooned the veggies all around it with about 1 cup of the broth, and wrapped it over with little "tent" of heavy-duty foil. Baked it for an hour and a half at 300 degrees F. My husband and son said it was the best they ever had! Save the extra broth to cook more veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gloria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
Followed recipe for a dinner meal. Just absolutely perfect. Will neve boil again ! Works out to about 1 hr 40 min per pound. Meat tender n juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
Way too salty! When you boil it, the salt used in the "corning" process leaches out into the water. Baking it just intensifies the salt. This was inedible. (I followed the recipe exactly.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Eric Woodhams
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
I would have never thought to do a corned beef this way. But after seeing this recipe, I had to try it. After searing the brisket on both sides with the browning sauce, I removed from the heat and coated again with more browning sauce, then covered the top of the brisket with the chopped onions and chopped garlic. I then used a cookie sheet lined with foil, added a little water at the bottom of the sheet put the brisket on there, and spread remaining chopped onions and garlic around the brisket. I then covered with foil and put in the oven. 6 hours, 45 minutes later I took it out. The onions and garlic caramelized and the brisket was so tender, I could pull it apart with a fork and was absolutely delicious. I WILL NEVER EVER COOK THIS ANY OTHER WAY. Thank you for this delicious recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric Woodhams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
I saw other reviews state they would never boil a brisket again. I too am of that mind. I used the recipe as a guideline. I had 3 2.5 lb briskets so I cooked at 235F for 6 hrs...perfection. The whole family loved it. I've never had a brisket this tender and juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
This recipe was very easy and made for a deliciously moist corned beef brisket! The brisket I had was just under 3.5 lbs, so I only kept it in the oven for 5 hours instead of 6. I had also wrapped the brisket, onions, garlic, and water in aluminum foil, then put it in a casserole dish. After I removed it from the oven, I let it sit on the counter for 30 minutes or so. It cut beautifully and easily, even falling apart in some places. Absolutely delicious!! Can't wait to have some grilled reuben leftovers tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Crazy fabulous. Like one other reader I used to Dutch oven. Seared it only three minutes on each side to avoid the complaint of others that it was"crispy". Only had 3 1/4 pound beef so I adjusted the time down to four hours. I also added a half cup of beer to the container. was extremely hot and evaporated some liquid on contact.. Some people ask how do you cook the rest of the vegetables? In my case I lightly steamed them. The corned beef has so much flavor.... also there is a great amount of sauce with this method....dream something!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Absolutely the best ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
Thank you for the recipe. I got a lot of compliment for this dish. It is a keeper and will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Wine-Braised Beef Brisket

See how to make this tasty slow-cooked beef brisket.

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States