Braised Corned Beef Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
Way too salty! When you boil it, the salt used in the "corning" process leaches out into the water. Baking it just intensifies the salt. This was inedible. (I followed the recipe exactly.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Eric Woodhams
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
I would have never thought to do a corned beef this way. But after seeing this recipe, I had to try it. After searing the brisket on both sides with the browning sauce, I removed from the heat and coated again with more browning sauce, then covered the top of the brisket with the chopped onions and chopped garlic. I then used a cookie sheet lined with foil, added a little water at the bottom of the sheet put the brisket on there, and spread remaining chopped onions and garlic around the brisket. I then covered with foil and put in the oven. 6 hours, 45 minutes later I took it out. The onions and garlic caramelized and the brisket was so tender, I could pull it apart with a fork and was absolutely delicious. I WILL NEVER EVER COOK THIS ANY OTHER WAY. Thank you for this delicious recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric Woodhams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
I saw other reviews state they would never boil a brisket again. I too am of that mind. I used the recipe as a guideline. I had 3 2.5 lb briskets so I cooked at 235F for 6 hrs...perfection. The whole family loved it. I've never had a brisket this tender and juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
This recipe was very easy and made for a deliciously moist corned beef brisket! The brisket I had was just under 3.5 lbs, so I only kept it in the oven for 5 hours instead of 6. I had also wrapped the brisket, onions, garlic, and water in aluminum foil, then put it in a casserole dish. After I removed it from the oven, I let it sit on the counter for 30 minutes or so. It cut beautifully and easily, even falling apart in some places. Absolutely delicious!! Can't wait to have some grilled reuben leftovers tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Crazy fabulous. Like one other reader I used to Dutch oven. Seared it only three minutes on each side to avoid the complaint of others that it was"crispy". Only had 3 1/4 pound beef so I adjusted the time down to four hours. I also added a half cup of beer to the container. was extremely hot and evaporated some liquid on contact.. Some people ask how do you cook the rest of the vegetables? In my case I lightly steamed them. The corned beef has so much flavor.... also there is a great amount of sauce with this method....dream something!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Absolutely the best ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
Thank you for the recipe. I got a lot of compliment for this dish. It is a keeper and will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
I had 2 sandwiches from this and then it was gone...eaten by the teenager. And so you know how successful this was: I eat a corned beef sandwich maybe once every 2 or 3 years. Until this. I don't have roasting pan so I just used my cast iron Dutch oven and a cooling rack. I used Newcastle for the liquid and a bit more than called for. My brisket was grass fed and cured in-store and had less liquid, so this worked well. I also used Dale's seasoning instead of kitchen browning sauce...just what I had on hand. Very tender and much more flavorful than traditional corned beef. I have already purchased another to cook tomorrow. Thanks, Maui girl, for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
I'm not a corned beef lover...until now. I didn't have Kitchen Bouquet, so I used a teaspoon of Better Than Boullion vegetable stock base, and brushed it on the beef. It was so tender that I had to shred it! I took a tablespoon of the drippings and roasted fingerling potatoes in them, and made brussels sprouts (also with a tablespoon of the drippings) and it was spectacular! Now I need a nap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gammaray (=
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
Mom and I really enjoy this! I follow Baking Nana's suggestion of triple wrapping it in heavy duty foil. I also lay a sheet of heavy duty foil on my baking sheet to catch the juices that leaked - quick and easy clean up! Thank you, mauigirl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gammaray (=

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Braised Corned Beef Brisket

Perfect corned beef brisket is super simple to make at home.

Wine-Braised Beef Brisket

See how to make this tasty slow-cooked beef brisket.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States