Braised Corned Beef Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
I now understand why this recipe is rated 5 stars…yes, it's that good. I haven't made corned beef in several years, but we had the taste for it (well, my husband ALWAYS has the taste for it). I bought a very lean flat 2 lb corned beef at Costco and followed the suggestions of some of the reviewers. I doubled wrapped in heavy duty foil, put it in a baking pan, cooked for about 5 hours, and there was no pan to clean. It was fork tender, moist, and its presentation was very nice. Had enough left over to make a nice corned beef hash, and I know that will be delicious, too. No more boiling corned beef, braising now is my go-to method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Our family loved corned beef and we always make it the traditional way of boiling it. I will never boil it again. This was the best tasting brisket we have ever had. There were no left overs for sandwiches or anything! I made it for St. Patrick's Day and it's a couple of weeks later and we have one in the oven again right now. I can't wait to eat! Thank you so very much for sharing this recipe! A new favorite in our house!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tinacook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muir, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westphalia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Supper yummy! I'm not a fan if corned beef but after reading reviews and hearing folks rave in the buzz, I decided to make this for St. Patricks day. Do glad u did! I rinsed my roast, dried, and painted in the bouquet, then browned per instructions. I took Baking Nana's suggestion and wrapped in foil a few times. Mine leaked so I was glad I had it on a tray. I smelled burning, but didn't realize it had leaked so I stopped cooking at four hours thinking it was burnt. Let sit in oven after turning it off for about an hour and holy smokes was it good! DELICIOUS! I guess I can't say I don't like corned beef anymore. Thank you Mauigirl! Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I rinsed and patted dry the flat cut corned beef brisket and coated it in Kitchen Bouquet, browned on both sides for 5 minutes each side. I laid a sheet of heavy duty foil out flat and then placed another sheet crosswise. I laid the browned brisket on top and added the onion, garlic, and 2 T. of water on the fat side. Making sure to keep the fat side facing upwards, I closed the foil tightly and placed another piece of foil over the top of the brisket. I placed on the rack of my preheated roaster oven and roasted for 6 hours. Did not peek, turned oven off and allowed the corned beef brisket to sit for 30 minutes. Lifted the rack out - not a drop of the broth leaked out. Delicious, moist and fork tender. Loved it and very deserving of 5 stars. I will never ever buy deli corned beef again! Thank you, Mauigirl for sharing this keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
After all my years of cooking I finally made a corned beef brisket! Why did I wait? I didn't think I had any takers! And probably had I followed any other recipe that would have been the case. I followed the triple-wrapped method, and it served us well. So well that I picked up another brisket for my freezer so that in the summer we can enjoy some more of the yummy sandwiches that we had! Thanks so much, mauigirl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Amazingly tender. As predicted, I will not go back to the traditional way of cooking corned beef. Even better the day after for Reuben's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missi K

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
unbelievable flavor.... I followed the instructions as stated.... my family loved it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Most awesome! Made exactly as directed. Even with the 2 tbsp. of water, which was a bit scary. It works people. For those who found it too dry, I assume it was not tightly covered in foil. A must to keep in the steam. Kitchen Bouquet. Who knew they still make that? Reminds me of Mom in the sixties. It made stuff "fancy". :) This is melt in your mouth, falling apart goodness. I roasted potatoes for the last two hours being the temp was so low. Just olive oil and herbs de provence. And shredded brussel sprouts with bacon. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa j

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I have been cooking corned beef for over 50 years. Thanks, Mauigirl, this is by far the best I have ever made. Used Baking Nana's method of triple-wrapping meat in heavy foil. Not only was the corned beef wonderful, the clean-up was so easy. I had a lean piece of meat from Costco that was perfectly square so it cooked evenly. I poured the broth into a gravy/fat separator. I was surprised how little fat came to the top. I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Really good also on sandwiches the next day. I didn't have Browning sauce, so I just added a honey mustard mixture to taste on top before cooking. I also added some celery and carrots the last two hours of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Dee Matthews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaford, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

Corned Beef and Cabbage I

See how to make a traditional recipe for corned beef and cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States