Braised Corned Beef Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Wow! I will never boil again. I had been looking for a crock pot recipe when I stumbled on this recipe, and thought I would try something new. I kept reading the recipe over again because it seemed too simple. After browning with the Kitchen Bouquet, I deglazed the pan with about 1/2 can of beer I had in the fridge from another recipe. I wrapped the brisket in foil, leaving a small opening in the top to vent. I poured some of the juices over the onion and garlic topped fat side; and poured the rest over a pan of raw carrots for later baking. I then loosely wrapped another piece of foil over the top of the brisket. Baked at 250 for 5 hours, putting the carrots in for the last hour. It smelled delicious baking and the beef sliced up tender and juicy after resting for about 10 minutes. I made Diane's Colcannon (without the cabbage, didn't have on hand) as a perfect side to this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: May 26, 2014
mauigirl - this is the BEST corned beef that I have ever prepared! It was so moist and tender and the flavor was incredible. I sliced and froze the leftovers, and have 2 more corned beefs in the freezer to make this again. I served it with 'Cream Cheese Colcannon' 'Buttermilk Slaw' and 'Irresistible Irish Soda Bread' all AR recipes. Everything was delicious, but the meat stole the show. Thanks for submitting your method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
We loved this it was our first time having corned beef prepared this way and we were very happy with the turnout of this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2014
I found this recipe on line when I accidentally picked up a corned beef brisket vs. a regular beef brisket. I had never cooked corned beef brisket before. I made this exactly as specified although I did take the advice of one reviewer and added my water to the pan after browning the roast to get all the good juices and spices. Then poured this over the roast (fat side up)--sprinkled generously with black pepper and sliced up the garlic and onions. It turned out GREAT. DELICIOUS! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iron Station, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Hartsville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Very delicious recipe! I have always fixed corned beef in the "traditional" way and (for me) it always felt as if it needed something extra. I used this recipe, for the first time, on New Year's Day 2014 and right now have another one in the oven. My family loved the flavor and texture of this "newer" recipe. After reading other reviews, I was hesitant the first time I fixed it and nervous that it would be dry - it was wonderful! I have to say I do not side in with any critics against this recipe. It is my #1 favorite corned beef recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
First time making corn beef brisket for st. pattys day. It was so yummy! I felt like I went to an Irish Pub.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwich, Connecticut, USA
Living In: North Royalton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kirklandcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
I made this for St.Patty's Day. I was a huge hit, I will never boil corned beef again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairhaven, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
This was really delicious. I used brown ale instead of water, about half a bottle of Newcastle. I also took a lazy shortcut and used jarred minced garlic, I didn't measure, I just smeared it all of the 'fat cap' after browning in Kitchen Bouquet. I covered the bottom of my foil pan with quartered onions instead of using a rack. Next time I will rinse the brisket first, it was a little too salty. It was really really good, this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Stuart Dobson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Stafford Springs, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
I made this a few days after St. Patrick's day and enjoyed it very much! I love how flavorful and tender it was. Also, it was quick to throw together! Will definitely make it again! Both my hubby and son liked on a pretzel bun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Wine-Braised Beef Brisket

See how to make this tasty slow-cooked beef brisket.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States