Braised Corned Beef Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
We cooked this today. I thought it was better than boiled. More beefy flavor. My husband said he likes it both ways... boiling it of course is much simpler. Well cooking it in the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darlene

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Banning, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
This recipe will make you a Rock Star in the kitchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hammond, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
This recipe made the best corned beef sandwiches ever! I only made 2 little changes: an extra tablespoon of water because we live at higher elevation and I wanted to be sure it would be OK, and I twisted the peppergrinder over the brisket a few times before adding the onions and garlic. I used my dutch oven because I figured the lid would help keep the foil down tightly. Thanks MauiGirl, this is a "must-try -> keeper" recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
I bought an extra corned beef brisket on St. Patty's day when they were on sale to try this recipe later for sandwiches. I was afraid it would be too salty, but was very tasty, tender and easy to slice thin the next day. This made a very good grilled Swiss cheese, mustard and corned beef sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
Absolutely fantastic! I made this for my husband for St. Patrick's Day this year. It was super easy and tasted wonderful. I prepped it the night before and had him put it in the oven the next day. Best corned beef recipe I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Another stellar review for this easy and delicious method of making corned beef! I decided last minute I had a craving for corned beef, knowing I really wanted a Rueben later in the week, so I wasn't prepeared with the browning sauce. I used a some A1 Bold I keep on hand for marinades and it was a nice sub. Other than that, I followed the recipe. At the end, I took the meat out, wrapped in foil and let rest. I added big diced potatoes and baby carrots to the liquid (yes, there will be quite a bit of liquid!) I took the meat from, rewrapped and put back in the oven at 350 for 35-40 minutes. Meanwhile, I sliced the corned beef rewrapped and put back in the oven to rewarm for a few minutes as the potatoes finished. It was heaven and I look forward to a Rueben for lunch tomorrow! Thanks, Julie! This will be my go-to method in the future, so much easier and more flavorful than keeping an eye on a boiling pot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
This was the best recipe for corned beef I have ever had. I have been making corned beef the same way by either boiling it or putting it in the pressure cooker. I think the onions and garlic gave it so much flavor and the meat was sooo tender. What a wonderful recipe. THANK YOU! I prepared it exactly as directed with only 2 tablespoons of water and when it was done there was plenty of water/gravy in the pan. It probably could have cooked for 5 or 5.5 hours. Everyone loved it and it was so easy. The color of the meat was so nice. It seems like when you cook corned beef in water, it loses color and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
Oh my gosh! This was fantastic! Everybody loved it! Way better than the crock pot method I have always used. It was so tender and flavorful. I will be making corned beef this way from now on. Thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
This turned out really good, like others I wrapped it tightly in foil. I do have one complaint. I don't understand adding Kitchen Bouquet prior to searing it. When searing it the juices from the meat come out and the Kitchen Bouquet covers the searing pan. Then it just burned, smoked, and smelled terrible. It also ruined the pan I was using. Next time I'll sear first and then coat it with a little Kitchen Bouquet. In the end it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SeattleDuck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
This recipe, plus GeoCarter's comment gave me some good ideas! The day before St. Patrick's, and after I got home from work, I cut off most - but not all - of the fat from my flat-corned beef brisket, put on top of 2 Tablespoons of coconut oil (you can use olive) in my 8 qt. pot, covering it with water. Brought water to boil, then turned-down to low simmer for 90 minutes per lb. After that, I simmered it another 30 minutes with clean, red potato wedges and peeled and chopped carrots. Then, I added the chopped cabbage and simmered it another 15 minutes. Turned off the stove and left it there, covered tightly, overnight. I did this because my husband prefers well-cooked veggies, so I wasn't worried about them being too soft. On St. Patrick's Day and after I got home from work, I spooned out the veggies (that WEREN'T over-cooked or falling apart) in a separate 3 qt pan, placing brisket in a buttered 9"x 13" glass pan, fat side up. I made a topper for it consisting of: 1/4 cup of spicy-brown mustard, 1/4 cup of dark-brown sugar, 1/4 cup butter, 3 Tablespoons of creamy horseradish, 1 Tablespoon of red pepper flakes, 1 teaspoon of black pepper and 3/4 cup of Panko bread crumbs. Spread that over it, spooned the veggies all around it with about 1 cup of the broth, and wrapped it over with little "tent" of heavy-duty foil. Baked it for an hour and a half at 300 degrees F. My husband and son said it was the best they ever had! Save the extra broth to cook more veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gloria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Wine-Braised Beef Brisket

See how to make this tasty slow-cooked beef brisket.

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States