Braised Corned Beef Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Awesome recipe - Easy and so delicious! Thank you Mauigirl. This is a keeper for sure. After searing I placed the corned beef on a rack above the little bit of water - followed the instructions as stated - the wonderful aroma of this braising was not to be believed. I offered to set some aside for my daughter to take home to her corned beef hating husband and he absolutely loved it. I will have to make more tomorrow. Thank you! UPDATE I made this again last night. I got a really nice flat cut corned beef at Costco - very lean. I used about a tablespoon of the browning sauce. I triple wrapped the corned beef in heavy aluminium foil on a baking sheet. It cooked for about 5 hours at 275. We ate some for dinner and then I used a slicer to thin slice the rest for sandwiches. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Out o' Sight brisket recipe, Jules! I copycatted your menu exactly and oh what a treat! Like Baking Nana, I bought my flat cut brisket at Costco, followed your directions to a "T" with one tiny addition of more sliced garlic and onion just because onions and garlic are in their own food group at Cathy Myers' house! Flavorful, fork tender - the very best we've ever had! I will NEVER return to yukky boiled meat again! I found myself cutting off chunks of the leftovers for a protein snack! Couldn't help myself! Randy got his Reuban sammie fix that's for certain! Thanks again for sharing, Julie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Myers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestline, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
We sat down to eat, my husband took a bite and said "yummmmm". Then he looked at me and asked "corned beef isn't usually this tender, or tasty". He didn't even put mustard on it! Simple very tasty way to cook corned beef. I made a colcannon with saute cabbage as the side. I didn't have any kitchen bouquet, so I just lightly peppered it. I have another corned beef in the fridge, this is how I will cook corned beef from now on. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
There is very little water in this recipe because corned beef briskets are brined and have soaked in alot of water which will release during the cooking process.I am the submitter and I wanted to give an important tip here.....cover tightly or wrap the brisket tightly with foil and do not be tempted to check the status during the long braise. You will lose too much steam and your brisket will dry out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Very delish recipe. I've never made a corned beef with this technique before. And it turned out soo well. I followed threw with braising and then utlizing my crockpot to bake in, only for the simple fact, I needed to bake other things at a higher temp then this recipe in my oven and didn't want to complicate matters. The crockpot worked out very well. The only thing I did slightly different and it wasn't really much. After braising the meat in the pan on the cooktop, I took the water and deglazed the pan and then added that deglazed mixture to the crock pot over the corned beef and followed threw with the rest of the directions. Added a head of cabbage during the last hour and a half, it was very flavorful. My beef was extra tender and was falling apart ;-) Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
This is a wonderful method for corned beef. I cooked the corned beef the day before then crusted it with dijon mustard & Brown sugar and put it back in the low oven just to warm it through and set the crust. It was perfection. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
OMG 10 stars! The best corned beef I have ever made. My husband who has had ALOT of corned beef in his life said it was hands down the best he ever had. My brisket was 3.25lbs and it was fork tender after 5 hours cooking. I love how it looked after browning it. I just used lots of pepper instead of the browning sauce. I cooked it fat side up and scraped the fat layer off and let it rest for about an hour before slicing. Still was piping hot. I put the slices back in the juices and served with my version of colcannon. Hubby said it was the best dinner he had in a long time. Thank you so much mauigirl for sharing this fabulous recipe. I don't understand the reviews that still prefer the boiling method. I can't wait for ruebens tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Kitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Newark, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I added about a half cup of water to the pan before sealing tightly. After cooking, I removed corned beef and added several red potatoes, sliced in half to the pan drippings, covered with the foil and cooked until tender, about 45:minutes. I sauteed my cabbage in butter and a little water until tender, then added the potatoes and drippings to the cabbage and served with the corned beef. Best corned beef and cabbage I ever cooked! I was amazed how lean and tender the corned beef was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
So delicious; the meat was incredibly tender and tasty! The smell wafted through the house and tempted us for hours. I will never boil corned beef again. I followed the recipe exactly...even the 2 tablespoons water which doesn't seem like it's enough, but it is. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I too added 1/2 can of beer to the bottom of the pan with the spice packet and did the glaze w/ mustard and brown sugar. So much better than the boiling method. Though very popular in the USA, you won't find corned beef on the menu in Ireland St Paddy's day. Not a traditional dish for them. Who knew?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

Corned Beef and Cabbage I

See how to make a traditional recipe for corned beef and cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States