Braised Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
With a Grandma's name of Ollie-Belle I just had to check this out! My Grandma was my hero & made the best collards! I loved your recipe & will use it in the future. Thanks, it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
very good, i add a little andouille sausage to mine and instead of the ham I used bacon, overall very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
My first time making collard greens and I'm so pleased with the results. I was at the farmer's market yesterday and I couldn't pass up the .50 per bunch of beautiful collards. I immediately came home and found this recipe. I had a couple of smoked pork bones in my freezer which I used instead of ham hocks and no salt pork. Everything else I followed in the recipe except that the greens really took over an hour to get tender but I did have a huge pot full. My husband kept telling me that he hated collard greens. After his first bite, "honey, your greens are really good".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: English, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChefAMY
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Loved this. I stuck to the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefAMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I made these and found them to salty and not enough of spice for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian W.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gautier, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
I added bacon to finish it off, and I used white vinegar instead of red wine. Tasted great! Now all my west coast friends know what the fuss is about. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This is one of the best "Greens" recipes ever...and this is from a girl born and raised in Georgia. Be sure and freeze the "pot liqour" as a base for future soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nolagyrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
OMG!!! My family is from Mussel Shoals, AL & Lutts,TN and these were the BEST collard greens ever!!! People!!!Don't change a thing and you will be very pleased with the results....well maybe a little more hot pepper flake (my taste) but very very good!!! Thanks for the recipe : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Good, but not the best that I've eaten. I will make collard greens again but will try another recipe for comparison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
This is the first time I have EVER cooked collard greens I am truly happy with. I am a cooking novice so I had to throw the first batch out: I used chicken broth instead of chicken stock, which made the greens too salty; they were inedible. After I searched this site for a basic chicken stock recipe, however, my greens were absolute perfection. This recipe rocks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States