Braised Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
My husband made them and they came out delicious! Very easy for first timers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luciana Rodriguez Caballero-Wi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
The ingredients are right on, but not the cooking directions. First, cut the salt pork in slices or chunks and boil in a separate pot until almost tender, but not quite and pour off the water and set aside. Now, wash your ham hocks off and put them in a pot, cover with water, bring to a boil and cook over medium heat for about fifteen minutes and pour the water off. Then, start a fresh pot with water to cover and cook until almost tender, but not quite done. Then, add your remaining ingredients and salt pork with your greens and bring to a boil. Simmer about an hour, or until the greens are the way you like them. Some people like them chewy, so take a few out after about 45 minutes and taste them for tenderness.. These steps are necessary to keep from having your greens too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chitowncook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Left out salt pork (not neccessary) and used a leftover Honey-baked ham bone. Wonderful. Did not need the sugar because the ham bone added enough sweetness. I think using chicken "stock" and not chicken "broth" also made a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harkers Island, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I made my version of this recipe a bit healthier (and spicier). I put 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes. Omitted salt pork and used smoked pork hocks for flavor. Didn't need any vinegar, it's perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
we loved this recipe and really healthy..taste good;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
These were good. I couldn't find salt pork so I only used the ham hocks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROLLERSGIRLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
My family was amazed that I actualy made this and it was awesome. Everyone raved. I will use this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Really enjoyed these greens..excellent flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tinafullar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eastpointe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
I made this recipe exactly as written except I used turkey necks instead of ham hocks and it was the best greens I've ever made. My Louisiana husband who has not like any of my attempts at greens for over fifteen years said they were slamming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMANNING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
this recipe is wonderful..especcially since greens are sooo healthy for you..my mother (born and bred arkie)always had jar of hot peppers on the table to use the juice for the greens. also one little tip. if you cook just plain greens when in a hurry...just a pinch of nutmeg while cooking will take away any bitter taste and you can never tell it has nutmeg in them..i never cook greens without a little red pepper flakes either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States