Braised Chicken Breasts in Tasty Mirepoix Ragout Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2014
We loved this recipe! I used low sodium broth. I thought I'd use a high simmer (not a boil) in order to ensure a reduced sauce. Mistake. A low simmer really would've been better. It reduced so much after 90 minutes, when I added the chicken to the pan, there wasn't enough liquid to cover them. Not even close. I had to hand baste during the last 30 minutes. Because it reduced so much, it was salty (but that was my fault for reducing it too much). I added a chopped potato to the sauce for the last 15 minutes, and that did help reduce the saltiness. We served it over rice. We're adding this one into the menu rotation! I will follow the directions next time. Thank you, Gordon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
To the people complaining that the sauce never thickened or became "stew-like": did you cover the pot to simmer it? Because if you did, guess what? That sauce has nowhere to evaporate so it's not going to reduce one bit. This is also why attempting this in a crock pot will fail - there's nowhere for the sauce to evaporate. To the people complaining that the sauce was too salty: did you use commercially prepared chicken stock/broth versus making your own? Because if so you need to take into account the fact that those broths already have TONS of salt in them so you don't need to season as much, merely season the chicken breasts, don't add salt to the mirepoix. Hope this helps the people who had issues because done properly this recipe is solid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Made this for our Christmas dinner today and it was fantastic. My first two tries weren't as good but I think I finally got it. I did change a few things. I added no salt. Didn't need it, when the broth reduces it has just enough salt. I cut my chicken into bite size pieces, about 1 inch cubes. I added my pepper directly to the flour, mixing it before dredging my chicken in the flour. I added my potatoes the same time as the broth and chicken. Did not cover the dish while simmering and it gave the ragout a stew like consistency when finished.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I made this recipe as is the first time and the second time I had the broth (reduced sodium) reduce and then added 2 tablespoons of flour to thicken it. Both times it was salty. Luckily I did not add salt to the mashed potatoes I made this with so that detracted from the saltiness of the dish. Overall very tasty but on the salty side, hence the four star rating as opposed to 5. In the future, I'll be sure to use homemade broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Excellent! I tried the recipe as it was, didn't add or modify it and it turned out so well. It was a hit with everyone at home and left over was a great Monday lunch at work. Being a budding home-cook, this is an excellent dish to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
I think I have to say that I really didn't "get" this recipe. I followed it exactly as written but ended up cooking it for around three hours. The broth never thickened much, so I ended up with something that wasn't soup and wasn't stew. It's basically just boiled chicken breasts in broth with vegetables. Mine was also very salty - I wouldn't add more salt (broth has plenty). The chicken itself had OK flavor and was very tender, but I am not sure what to do with the sauce. My two cents.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
This tasted great. I especially liked the sauce over mashed potatoes as so many other reviewers talked about. The prep was kind of annoying, but the end result was fabulous. I'd give it 5 stars, but my partner had a whatever rating. "Good," she said, "but if you didn't make it again I wouldn't care." My kids 2.5 and 4.5 also liked it and the leftovers were delicious. One thing I did different was barely use salt. I used a homemade broth also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Broyles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Iowa, USA
Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
I made this today and my husband loved it. I used bone in chicken breast,did not season with salt. Once I braised the chicken and cooked the veges, I added the remaining flour and made a roux before adding the wine and broth(I used 6 cups of broth). It made a beautiful thick sauce and we had it over mashed potatoes. We will be making this again !! Thank you for the wonderful recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristine Steen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Hayward, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Unlike many other reviewers, my chicken and its sauce was not salty. And mine took a lot less cooking time. If you reduce 64 ounces (a half gallon!) of broth to a stew-like consistency of course its going to be salty, not to mention it's going to take forever to cook down! I used half the amount of chicken broth called for. I cooked it at fairly high heat rather than a simmer, and didn't return the chicken to the pan until it was almost the consistency I was after, tho' I did add a little cornstarch slurry to give the sauce some viscosity. As for seasoning, I wanted more than just the salt and pepper called for before dredging the chicken in the flour, so I gave it a good sprinkle of Montreal Chicken Seasoning as well, which worked well with the thyme (I used fresh). This was delicious. A simple mirepoix (or soffritto in Italian) was transformed into something sublime - and it took about half an hour from start to finish. I served this over rice alongside steamed zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
I have to say wow!!!!!I used lampchops instead but made it the exact same way as of the chicken. My boyfriend is very picky and from the first bite he was ummmm umm umm... I listened to other reviews and i did not add salt came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Pan-Seared Chicken Breasts with Shallots

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts with sautéed shallots.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States