Braised Celery Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
This side dish was easy to make and flavorful, the only thing I suggest is to completely omit the salt since the chicken broth already contain plenty of sodium. Mine came to salty because of that(and I used very little salt).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shootingstar7

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
One day while I was cutting up some celery for my kids snack I realized that no one ever serves celery cooked for a side dish. I was curious and began looking for a recipe to try and was lucky enough to discover this one. I made it for my husband and me to go with our dinner that night and it was WONDERFUL. The celery was so tender and flavorful even my husband RAVED about it (and I was a little leary serving it to him to begin with). I know the thought of braised celery doesn't sound very exciting, but try it when you are in the mood for something different! It's delicous. I wish there were more than 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2003
excellent! I usually find the taste of celery too outspoken. This recipe makes an excellent side dish of celery with a very smooth flavor. I added some lemon juice to it which made it even better. I often serve this with fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I really only tried this recipe because I had a bunch of celery left over after making soup. I was pleasantly surprised. It's nothing exciting but it's a nice, light & mild side dish to go with a meal, esp. of a spicier meat. I would definitely make this again. * I did sprinkle a little parmesan cheese over it before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2003
The only fresh vegetable I had was celery so right before dinner time I did a search and came up with this one. I am so happy I tried it! My husband and I have had it twice in the past week and both really enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
LOVED this!! I'm always left with so much celery that just goes bad, but this was a great way to use that up! I would definitely emit the salt next time, since the bouillon is so salty. But even so, 5 stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
This is great! I used low sodium chicken broth and lowered the butter amount. Celery is said to lower blood pressure if eaten everyday, so for my husband's diet I have been trying to find recipes w/ lots of celery. This is the best one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnT77

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
This was excellent! I am not a huge celery fan so I wasn't sure about making this, but my husband is on Atkin's so I thought I would give it a try. The celery came out so soft and flavorful! Even my 20 month old loved it. Great, easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
What a life saver! Being on a diet and having few choices for vegatables right now was becoming boring... Tried this with curry, no margarine but everything else made it soooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I was nervous about this recipe since the ingredients seemed to be lacking flavor, but it came out really well. My husband even liked it, which is amazing since it's green. :) I'd pass on the salt next time though, or substitute stock for the bouillon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Wayne, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Celery Root Mash

See how to make a quick, creamy vegetable side dish.

Celery Root and Potato Puree

See what earthy celery root does for basic mashed potatoes.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States