Braised Black Lentils Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I used vegetable stock instead of chicken. Came out delicious. This is how im having black lentils from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
This is excellent, especially when with Spicy Tarragon Yogurt Chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Will become a standard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Fantastic! You just have to make it to understand how good it is. (Watch the video first - it's not necessary, but it's a nice addition.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Meyer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Chef John, you've nailed it again, and talked me into buying black lentils online, since our local Co-op didn't carry them. This was fantastic. I used balsamic vinegar because I didn't have champagne vinegar. (I have never even seen that.) It was fantastic. I also added minced garlic. I couldn't help it. Home run!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marquette, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
So delicious! I found that it was delicious even without the vinegar and parsley. I really enjoyed the video tutorial as well :) This will be on my menu rotation from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
I cooked these for at least 45 min with additional broth, and they still seemed too firm to me. I'm thinking that next time I should let the lentils soak in water overnight, perhaps. The flavor was really good, and I used a tarragon vinegar that I had on hand. I don't get much flavor our of parsley, so I think I will try cilantro next time as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
I was wandering the Organic section at the grocery store today looking for something healthy and came across Black Caviar Lentils. They looked interesting so I thought I'd try them. I got home and found this recipe for them. Who knew lentils could be tasty? I usually don't like lentils, but this recipe is good. I didn't use the butter (trying to make it healthier) and did not have fresh thyme. I used a palm-full of dried thyme instead. I also added a bit more bouillon for flavor because I did not have the Champagne vinegar. Will be adding this recipe to my recipe box. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coeur D Alene, Idaho, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Braised Black Lentils

See how to make black lentils braised in chicken stock.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States