Braised Beef Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2000
I too had been looking for a good short ribs recipe and this is the best. I will stop here. Easy to cut in half for 2 and easy to make. I did add a little more garlic. Try it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2001
the meal was fine, but a little bland (even though i used italian stewed tomatoes), and the meat was not as soft as i expected from long cooking time. i don't know what happened but i had very very little liquid left so i couldn't do step 4. maybe i need to try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2001
I too have been searching for a short rib recipe, with no luck. This on is excellent!! I altered it for 2 people and we loved it! I will definitely be making this recipe again. The best part was that is was so simple. I didn't have stewed tomatoes, so I subbed with a small can of tomato sauce and some sun-dried tomatoes. I also added a half cup of red wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2001
My family and I really enjoyed this receipe. I did extend the cooking time and added more liquid to vegetables as I saw the need. I have no talent for gravies, but this sauce was very easy to make. Leftovers were even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2002
My whole family loved this recipe!! Very Very Good!! We had a full meal with this! Just add bread and you have it all! We have a big family and this is perfet for us!! We even had leftovers that went over well, again! Thank you for a wonderful meal for a hearty family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FERBONIA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2002
Enjoyed this recipe. Easy to make and the meat just falls off the bone. The gravy comes out very tasty. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2002
This was quite lovely. Definitely not a low fat meal. Though I like garlic, I thought my "extra" garlic tasted out of place. I think 1 clove is enough. Don't forget to season the gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DMM104

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
I'm not Irish, but a farm girl from Ohio. This was excellent. I did saute my veggies in the bacon grease to give them added flavor. I sauted them before I browned the maat. I added some celery as well. This was very good. You either need to like Irish food or farm/german meals to enjoy this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2003
The only thing that stands out in this recipe is I learned how to cook this cut of meat--lots of liquid and long cooking time. It was very tender, but I would definitely doctor it up with herbs next time I make short ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keene, Texas, USA
Living In: Clifton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2004
I was very disappointed with the flavor. Although the meat was tender, there was no flavor. You need to add your own spices. I had to add additional liquid to keep the meat from burning even though I had it on simmer. Sorry will not be trying this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States