Braised Beef Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
Excellent flavor, but the meat needed to be cooked longer, so it would almost fall off the bone. Flavor great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
Excellent! Easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
I had never cooked short ribs before and I was skeptical when I saw the meat and this recipe, but it was excellent. The meat was juicy and tender (falling off the bone). There was a lot of flavor. The meat has a high fat content, but I think that's OK for an occasional treat like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
This is the best short rib recipe. The meat is so tender and the flavor of the dish is exceptional. Thanks Mr. Stern!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
This recipe is fantastic!!! I made it a lot easier to cook by using a pressure cooker, and made a couple of small changes. I first browned the ribs in a frying pan. I then put the beef, carrots, onions, tomatoes, garlic and two beef bouillon cubes in the pressure cooker for 25 minutes. I cooked the potatoes separately in water while waiting. I removed the meat from the cooker, and thickened the liquid, (including the carrots and onions) with the flour and water. I served the potatoes and ribs in separate bowls, and the liquid in another. A smash hit, eaten entirely in one sitting by two teenagers!!! They even asked for the same meal the next day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gimli, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2005
Not the best I've seen. Nothing I dislike more than boiled meat. Maybe this is the only way to prepare this cut of meat. if so when I get my meat order this cut will be going to the dogs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
Absolutely wonderful. I shortened the cook time by adding veggies about 1/2 hour into the simmering time thus shortening time by about 1 hour. VERY GOOD THANK YOU
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
this was it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LB1LEEMA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2004
I gave this recipe a 5 Star. I tred it and my family injoyed it. Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hilo, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2004
I was very disappointed with the flavor. Although the meat was tender, there was no flavor. You need to add your own spices. I had to add additional liquid to keep the meat from burning even though I had it on simmer. Sorry will not be trying this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States