Braised Beef Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
It was a bit on the bland side though the short ribs had their own beefy taste, which is always tasty. But otherwise if I ever make it again I'd add some salt to the actual sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
Mmmmmmm, Mmm! Very few changes, I used 1/2 the broth it calls for, and used one pkg of onion soup mix. in addition.I also used cornstarch to thicken the sauce a little. The last time I made this, I chopped up a couple of Aneheim peppers and added it for a little more zip, (BAM, in Emeril's terms.) For those of you who are afraid of the word 'chili peppers' Aneheims are not hot at all, however, you may discard the seeds if you wish. My grand daughter loves them, and she's only eleven. (not latin either.) If you've never tried this recipe before, read the reviews first and pay attention to the repeated changes, it will make it worth all your time and effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
This was the first time I have ever prepared beef ribs. I followed this recipe exactly and the product was quite good. I did refrigerate the meal overnight and then I scooped off the fat and reheated. So, technically I served the beef ribs on day 2, which was better, because the ribs are very fatty and probably would not have been as good the first day. I would make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
We love this and have made this many times now! I don't flour the ribs, it actually hinders the meat browning and developing its flavor to the fullest. I have found that the flavor is best if you cook it the day before and reheat in the oven at 350 for 20-25 minutes. This also lets you degrease the dish fully since short ribs can release alot of grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
362 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
Delicious! My whole family loved them, and we finished the whole thing. The only thing I changed was adding a bit longer on the cooking time, per other reviewers and the ribs came out so tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Kapaa, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
This has become a staple in my household since I first tried it. I do add seasoning to finish it off and I always skim off the oil before I serve it as it can be a heavy dish. I've made it at least 6 or 7 times in the crockpot and its always very tender. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
A decent recipe for braising meat. I couldnt find short ribs at the grocery store, or good veal with bones so I used a similar cut of lamb instead. The recipe was easy (except for the long cooking time!) and the meat came out extremely tender. I agree with other reviewers that it could use more flavor, although short ribs are often rather flavorfull. Leftovers heated up the next day in a microwave were still good. And to those that dont know what to do with beef ribs - just BBQ them! Rare or medium rare with some spices according to taste. Its not the most tender cut, but it isnt tough either, and like all meat near the bone is quite flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
This was GREAT! It was mine first time making short ribs. I used an extra one cup of water with the veggies. Cooked for about an half an hour longer.. Ribs turned out "fall off the bone" good! Will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PURSEONALITY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
This was excellent!! Even if you are not a regular cook you can make this and WOW the heck out of whom you are making it for! I made this lastnight for my family and everyone just loved it. This was my first time ever preparing short ribs. We all felt like we were eating short ribs from a 5 star restaraunt! Try these you will not be sorry!! Hats off to the creator of this meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
Excellent flavor, but the meat needed to be cooked longer, so it would almost fall off the bone. Flavor great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States