Braised Beef Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
We love this and have made this many times now! I don't flour the ribs, it actually hinders the meat browning and developing its flavor to the fullest. I have found that the flavor is best if you cook it the day before and reheat in the oven at 350 for 20-25 minutes. This also lets you degrease the dish fully since short ribs can release alot of grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
363 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
This recipe was excellent, but I will make a few changes next time. I will add enough water/stewed tomatoes to cover the ribs while they cook for 1 1/2. The liquid only went up about 1/2 way on the ribs and it took a long time for them to break down. I added a bay leaf when I added the vegetables and that gave it a great flavor. I also added quite a bit of water when cooking the vegetables. This was a great meal with fresh bread, good wine and great friends. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
176 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
This recipe is fantastic!!! I made it a lot easier to cook by using a pressure cooker, and made a couple of small changes. I first browned the ribs in a frying pan. I then put the beef, carrots, onions, tomatoes, garlic and two beef bouillon cubes in the pressure cooker for 25 minutes. I cooked the potatoes separately in water while waiting. I removed the meat from the cooker, and thickened the liquid, (including the carrots and onions) with the flour and water. I served the potatoes and ribs in separate bowls, and the liquid in another. A smash hit, eaten entirely in one sitting by two teenagers!!! They even asked for the same meal the next day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gimli, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
Mmmmmmm, Mmm! Very few changes, I used 1/2 the broth it calls for, and used one pkg of onion soup mix. in addition.I also used cornstarch to thicken the sauce a little. The last time I made this, I chopped up a couple of Aneheim peppers and added it for a little more zip, (BAM, in Emeril's terms.) For those of you who are afraid of the word 'chili peppers' Aneheims are not hot at all, however, you may discard the seeds if you wish. My grand daughter loves them, and she's only eleven. (not latin either.) If you've never tried this recipe before, read the reviews first and pay attention to the repeated changes, it will make it worth all your time and effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
Loved this recipe, and so easy! I also added 1/2 cup of red wine to the braising liquid, and added a little gravy master to the gravy to darken the sauce. Next time, I will cook the potatoes seperately as one other reviewer had suggested; they just get a little too mushy cooked with everything else. Will definitley make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2002
Enjoyed this recipe. Easy to make and the meat just falls off the bone. The gravy comes out very tasty. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2002
My whole family loved this recipe!! Very Very Good!! We had a full meal with this! Just add bread and you have it all! We have a big family and this is perfet for us!! We even had leftovers that went over well, again! Thank you for a wonderful meal for a hearty family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FERBONIA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2001
I too have been searching for a short rib recipe, with no luck. This on is excellent!! I altered it for 2 people and we loved it! I will definitely be making this recipe again. The best part was that is was so simple. I didn't have stewed tomatoes, so I subbed with a small can of tomato sauce and some sun-dried tomatoes. I also added a half cup of red wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2000
I too had been looking for a good short ribs recipe and this is the best. I will stop here. Easy to cut in half for 2 and easy to make. I did add a little more garlic. Try it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
I had never cooked short ribs before and I was skeptical when I saw the meat and this recipe, but it was excellent. The meat was juicy and tender (falling off the bone). There was a lot of flavor. The meat has a high fat content, but I think that's OK for an occasional treat like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States