Braised Beef Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
We LOVE this recipe!! I've made this several times and realized I didn't leave a review..As others have mentioned flouring the beef before browning really isn't necessary. My Alterations: I use 1/2 cup of beef broth, 1/2 cup of water and about a 1/3 cup of cabernet (I highly recommend adding the red wine). I also include chopped celery. GREAT recipe, meat comes out sooo tender and falls right off the bone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
As I am not a big fan of short ribs as they can be very tough and chewy, I fixed them in my pressure cooker. They were pretty tender and not too bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINGQUEEN75

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
This was delicous! I tweaked the recipe slightly after reading other reviews. I browned the meat without flour, used beef broth instead of water and added 1 large can (28 oz) of Italian stew tomatoes. After browning, I put the ribs and sauce in a Dutch oven at baked it at 350 detrees for a total of 3 hours. I added in carrots and onions in the last hour. The meat was fall-off-the-bone tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
This recipe is great but i tried to skip a step and messed up. Still delicious though. Cook on stove before adding vegetables just like the recipe states!!!! I then put in dutch oven and baked at 320 for about 4 hours. so tender and yummy and veggies perfect. i added more seasonings such as Italian season, Mrs dash garlic, pepper, basil, and dash orchestration sauce. EXCELLENT and friends devoured it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knightdale, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Very good basic recipe. We have a local store that sells boneless and trimmed short ribs. I have found that these are the best. Sometimes the short ribs can just be too fatty and it makes everything a little too greasy. We added a cup of wine and a bay leaf for some extra flavor. If you're having trouble with the potatoes falling apart, use red potatoes they tend to cook better in this type of a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
This is a great basic recipe for braised short ribs. However, I did change a lot of stuff so maybe my 5 star rating is a little skewed. I followed the advice of some of the other reviewers and chose not to flour the ribs before searing them in the pan. I used about 1.5lbs of short ribs and added the following: extra garlic - 2 cloves, 2 bay leaves, about 1/2 cup red wine, basil, oregano, and sage. I also used A LOT more stewed tomatoes than recipe calls for - 28 oz can of them plus a half cup of water, adding more water over the course of the cooking process as it reduced. I think the extra tomatoes thickened the sauce enough as it reduced so that there was no need to mix in any flour or cornstarch at the end. I left out the potatoes and threw in some frozen peas in the last 5 min of cooking. It came out insanely good! This dish is hard to mess up, even if you change as much stuff as I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ninapastina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This was just ok for me. It's similar to a swiss steak recipe I make, except more greasy and bland. I think the fault is the cut of meat, not the recipe writer. Don't think I'll bother with beef ribs anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Very bland. Could have been pot roast. Followed the recipe, will not be making again. My husband the meat and tater guy only gave it 2 stars. Will continue looking for perfect short rib recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toni Jo Fire Eating Pro

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prineville, Oregon, USA
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Very good recipe. My whole family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mint-Tea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Delicious! We like lots of garlic--so I added 6 cloves instead of one. I also substituted a 14.5 oz. can of stewed tomatoes w/oregano and basil. After browning the ribs and adding the water, tomatoes, and garlic, I covered the pot and placed it in a 350 degree oven for 1.5 hours. I then added the potatoes, onions, and carrots and returned the covered pot to the oven for another 1.5 hours. I continued with the recipe as given and the ribs were melt in your mouth good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kirklandcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States