Braided Egg Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 12, 2009
My family and I LOVED this bread I am definitely going to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naomi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
All that hard work really paid off! This is something for the whole family to do in the afternoon. It takes up a lot of time but every minute was worth it. This bread is soooooo yummy! It's really good with honey butter spread. I had enough for two large loaves and two mini loaves (for the boys who worked so hard at helping).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
If I could have given it 10 stars, I would have! Despite numerous glitches in the preparation of this wonderful bread, it was perfect as it came from the oven! Ease in preparation, long-lasting freshness, delightful taste and texture have made this a real keeper at my house. What did I do wrong, you ask? Well, I down-sized it to one loaf, but failed to notice that the measurements in the body of the preparation instructions weren't changed. When I saw 'add 1/2 c water,' I did; and then realized I had gone by the original size. Oops! So, I changed it to make 2 loaves...mistake # 2 was assuming I had enough flour for the bigger quantity...Had to make a quick run for another bag of the white stuff...despite these 'operator errors,' my bread turned out beautifully, and I got rave reviews from all of the friends and family who ate it...even 4 days later. It makes fantastic French toast, too. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
This bread was DELICIOUS!! I halved the recipe, and still got an enormous loaf; next time I'll make 2 loaves from the half recipe. I did also double the amount of sugar, and it turned out perfect. I'll definitely be making these to give to friends on special occasions. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeclayto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
Turned out great!! Made the dough in my bread machine. I only made 1/2 the recipe and ended up with a huge loaf, next time I will make two loaves from the 1/2. Everyone loved it! Thanks for sharing your recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOBSTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
This bread turned out great!! A couple things worth mentioning...I used my kitchen aid mixer to knead the dough. Dough was quite sticky, added more flour, and still was what I considered a sticky dough. Raised beautifully. I used 1/3 of the dough to make cinn. buns, and other two thirds to make two loafs ( I braided and added egg to make baby doll bread) Loaves were huge, next time I will make three loaves. Nice texture and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Windber, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
This recipe is wonderful, the bread is AMAZING! I followed the measurements to a T, but divided the dough into 2 braids. *I also only baked it for about 30 min. & it was done & still very moist! It came out so pretty that I can't wait to make it for friends. Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
This has become my standard recipe. The texture and flavor are consistently excellent. I usually split the flour 2/3 white and 1/3 fresh ground spelt, which makes it heartier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Tasted okay but mine turned out terrible...i must have done something wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brighton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
I became a member of this site just so I could review this recipe! This is the best bread I have ever eaten!! The first time I baked it, it yielded 2 massive loaves of beautiful braided bread. Since braided bread is more decorative than useful, I started shaping it into a simple loaf. The bread has a wonderful light sweetness and I thought it would be ideal for making cinnamon rolls, so I rolled it out after the second rise, spread my cinnamon/sugar/butter mix on it, sliced them up, and set them in the pan to rise for the last time before baking. Perfection! I love, love, love this recipe. My husband and I also love eating buns, so I'll shape the dough out into buns every now and then too... Such a versatile and super delicious recipe! Thanks sooooo much for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Braided Easter Egg Bread

Round, braided Easter bread decorated with natural or dyed eggs.

How to Make Easter Bread

See how to make traditional braided Easter bread with a simple glaze.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States