Braided Egg Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Scrappyruth
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
Very fluffy and delicious, i made 2 large loafs, 1 medium, and 3 small loafs out of it. Only thing different i did was add a tablespoon of gluten than filled the rim up with regular flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scrappyruth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
Truly yummy, and stunning on the table. I scaled it down to 20 servings, and it was perfect. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
This bread looked beautiful and was fluffy and good....but I think I may add more salt or something. I wanted a bit of flavor and it didn't seem to have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by silverlining

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Awesome! I made 20 servings or 1/3 recipe and it made a huge 2 foot braid, baked for 40 minutes. I do like my challah eggier, so next time would use 4 eggs instead of the 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Photo by MLALAK
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
amazing. this was my first try at Challah bread and it came out perfect. I halved the recipe and it made a huge loaf. I will make the halved recipe into 2 loafs next time. We loved it so much we eneded up pretty much eating just this bread and butter for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MLALAK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dublin, Ohio, USA
Living In: Berea, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
this bread is great! I put in the zest of 2 large lemons, and made a lemon glaze for the top instead of sesame seeds. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
This is an awesome bread!! It has such a light, sweet flavor. This was only my 2nd time trying to make a yeast bread and it turned out fine. I made two braided loaves and they were huge! I can't imagine how big it would be if you only made one loaf. The two loaves did not fit in the oven at the same time, so I put one in the fridge while the other was baking. I didn't know if that would harm the bread or not but it didn't. It turned out just like the other loaf that didn't go in the fridge beforehand. This is a fantastic recipe! This is a great starter recipe for yeast breads. I now have the confidence to try making other kinds of bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paradise, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Easy to make and pretty good flavor, but a little bit dry. Lovely presentation though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
I halved this recipe and still came about with two large loaves! It was good and looked great; it did NOT last long in this house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dollfayce

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
I am just learning how to cook and have never made homemade bread of any sort before, but I thought this recipe was pretty simple and straightforward, and my challah came out beautiful! One of my favorite smells in the world is baking bread, and it tasted as good as it smelled. A little too hard on the outside for some reason (maybe I didn't let it rise long enough before glazing?) but the inside was soft and moist! Thanks for the upload marilou!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Easter Bread

See how to make traditional braided Easter bread with a simple glaze.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States