Braided Egg Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I baked this today. It came out incredible. But I listened to some other reviews t used less flour. I think I used 7-8 cups of flour...I actually can't remember how many I used, but I stopped when the dough became stiff and less sticky. Also I added flour when i was kneading the dough, adding approx 2 more cups, so most likely around 9 cups. When I was kneading the dough I added some honey in. I dug a whole in the dough and squeezed in so be honey the mashed it all up again. I added 2 more honey drizzled while kneading. The dough could make 2 large loaves or 1 giant, but I made it into 6 smaller spiral rolls. This us one of the best challah breads I have ever tasted. I will definitely keep this recipe around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by msalamida
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
First time trying this recipe. Love it!! Try others before and it was to dense. Next time I will try dividing the recipe in 4 so it will give the loafs chance to be more airy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
This bread is wonderful! Great recipe to learn to make bread with. Fun to make, better to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Misty
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I'm in trouble now because this bread turned out so good we're having a hard time staying out of it. I changed nothing and ended up making one huge loaf and one average size loaf and so I cut the big one into three sections and froze after baking. The texture and flavor are so good! Next time I will try to get 3 or 4 average size loaves. I much prefer to make a big batch and freeze than to try to carve out the time to make it more often. Thanks for the great bread, I posted a pic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
made this and wow it was a hit! Love this bread and the braiding makes it look fantastic :) My friends and family were ecstatic about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Peasley

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
Wonderful recipe! I will make this over and over again! Despite messing up a few of the directions (I misread something and put all of the ingredients in one bowl instead of putting it in separate bowls then mixing it together) it turned out perfect! I thought it wouldn't rise at first, but it did eventually! I can't wait to try this bread with some chocolate and toppings. The outside tastes as good as the inside, and the bread is very soft. If the bread doesn't rise I advise you to check the date of the yeast, if it expired, the bread will not rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ashaylee
Reviewed: May 15, 2013
I loved this bread!!! it was crispy and sweet all together! my Mom who is the bread maker was really proud of me and loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashaylee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
This was a true treat for us with eggs, butter and salt in the dough. A splurge for the holidays and we were not disappointed! This bread is delicious. My brother said it was the best bread he has ever tasted. (I suspect he made off with the other loaf as it mysteriously went missing after dinner! Now there's a compliment if I ever got one!) The recipe states that this is for one large loaf and with 11 cups of flour I bet it would have been HUGE! I divided the dough in half and braided two loaves. They were quite large on their own. I brushed the loaves with just some beaten egg yolk for that deep brown, lacquer look. They were very pretty and most definitely a bread I will make again for another holiday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
Absolutely 5 stars in my book.. I've been making this bread to the recipe for about 4 years now with rave reviews.. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I halfed the recipe and it made one HUGE loaf. I could have made two smaller ones. It was so easy and so good! My kids LOVED it....it was gone by the next evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stefanie1981

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pewee Valley, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make Easter Bread

See how to make traditional braided Easter bread with a simple glaze.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States