Braided Egg Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
Awesome recipe. I made one huge loaf and everyone thought it was fake. Mine did not look like the picture...it looked like a professional bread, not at all homemade. It had a wonderful, mildly sweet taste. One hint...if you braid for one large loaf, remove your top oven rack. This thing comes to life once it starts baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
Excellent recipe. I saw that another baker thought theirs came out dry. I add four tablespoons of dry potato flakes and it keeps softer longer. Adjusting the flour make make the bread too light to hold up. Traditionally, I make Challah with one huge braid on the bottom and tuck a tiny braid of four strands onto the top. I also use a bit of yellow food coloring to enhance the 'egg bread' appearance. Using an egg wash over the top after rising makes the loaf shiny and helps the sesame seeds to stick. Great entry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2003
Very, very good!!!! Everything went according to plan. It made two HUGE loaves as big as large cookie sheets. I'm glad I split the dough in half because my oven wouldn't have been big enough otherwise! LOL I gave the extra loaf to my neighbor and she loved it and thought it was too pretty to cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2003
Delicious! I only used 9.5 cups of flour instead of 11 and it turned out perfect. It made 2 HUGE loves so split this recipe in two. Definately in my favorites file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richland, Washington, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
This is a family favorite. Only problem w/ this recipe is that we have no baking pan big enough to make a loaf that huge (who does, except a proffessional bakery?) So I cut the recipe in half and the loaf fits nicely on an average size pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BonAppetit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
If I could have given it 10 stars, I would have! Despite numerous glitches in the preparation of this wonderful bread, it was perfect as it came from the oven! Ease in preparation, long-lasting freshness, delightful taste and texture have made this a real keeper at my house. What did I do wrong, you ask? Well, I down-sized it to one loaf, but failed to notice that the measurements in the body of the preparation instructions weren't changed. When I saw 'add 1/2 c water,' I did; and then realized I had gone by the original size. Oops! So, I changed it to make 2 loaves...mistake # 2 was assuming I had enough flour for the bigger quantity...Had to make a quick run for another bag of the white stuff...despite these 'operator errors,' my bread turned out beautifully, and I got rave reviews from all of the friends and family who ate it...even 4 days later. It makes fantastic French toast, too. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
Just made this bread. I cut the recipe in half since its just me and my husband here to eat it. My bread turned out huge but really yummy. The house smells great too. Haha! I did have to add about another 1/2 cup of flour because it was still too sticky and did forget to save an egg to make an egg wash but it still turned out great. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willingboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Schweinfurt, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
Wonderful flavor. For my large family I had to double the batch to bake 2 braids instead of one. (My husband & I have 6 daughters & 11 sons, 7 of our sons live at home ages 23 down to 7. Can they ever eat, especially homemade bread from scratch! (Thank goodness for our double oven - we bake one braid in the top oven & the other braid in the lower oven.) This is a pretty bread that is perfect any time of the year. It is a nice variety from traditional loaf bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: Beaver Crossing, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
Made some lovely bread (two very large loaves...could easily have made 3 or 4 regular-sized loaves). Only complaint is that bread was a bit dry/dense...next time I make it I will probably reduce to 9 or 10 cups of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
Wow! This bread will make you a star in the kitchen. My farm makes this with our fresh products and this sells like crazy. This bread is worth the time and love it takes to prepare it. Don't shy away. I work the entire recipe by hand and it produces beautiful results. I like the tip about throwing in a tablespoon of instant potato flakes. When this gets out of the oven I like taking honey butter and rubbing it into the loaf. The shine with the egg white and the aroma makes those passing by weak at the knees! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karisma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Twentynine Palms, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Easter Bread

See how to make traditional braided Easter bread with a simple glaze.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States