Braided Egg Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by JenPayne
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly; it made two huge loaves and they turned out wonderful. I used the dough hook attachment on my Kitchen Aid mixer to knead the dough and there was so much that it barely fit in my mixing bowl. I wouldn't know how it keeps... it was gone at the end of dinner. Everyone commented on its distinctive taste and how it would make great sandwich bread for any leftover Easter ham. Unfortunately we will not know. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenPayne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wampum, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
Just made this bread. I cut the recipe in half since its just me and my husband here to eat it. My bread turned out huge but really yummy. The house smells great too. Haha! I did have to add about another 1/2 cup of flour because it was still too sticky and did forget to save an egg to make an egg wash but it still turned out great. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willingboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Schweinfurt, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
This is a family favorite. Only problem w/ this recipe is that we have no baking pan big enough to make a loaf that huge (who does, except a proffessional bakery?) So I cut the recipe in half and the loaf fits nicely on an average size pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BonAppetit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
Wonderful bread. I get rave reviews every time I make this. It looks very impressive too. It does make a huge loaf, but the dough can be divided. I have already made two or even three smaller loaves and they turn out just as good. Be sure to adjust your baking time accordingly though. (Although I'm sure you already knew that.) ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4my4girls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
Very easy to make and made for an incredible looking center piece for my buffet. Unlike braiding hair, you don't actually lose any length in the three rolls you've made, so be careful not to make the loaf too large for the pan you're going to bake it in or the oven it will be placed in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Absolutely awesome recipe. I use this one when I make bread bowls for soup and stews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I made four small loaves out of this recipe. Delicious! The whole house smelled great for hours, and I froze a couple loaves to eat at a later time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
Let me just say you have to try this bread not only because it taste so good,not just because it is so soft but because any bread dough that you mass up and it still make a big pretty tasty bread had to be the best. I made this bread added more sugar,honey and did everything else the way the recipes said too and them I shaped my bread to do let it rise for the last time and feel to sleep and when I got up my bread look so bad it had lost it's shape and was a round blob I was so up set with my self but I reshaped it to see would it rise again and it did and came out so soft and pretty,tasty. Thanks so much for posting this wonderful bread I will make again and again...Terry137 ps. I will be posting my picture of this bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bucket of cookies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MissCheerio
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
I modified this recipe a little owing to the fact I didn't have packages of yeast. I used 1 tablespoon of bread machine yeast for 4 cups of flour. It worked out very well and almost tasted better than a bakery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissCheerio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
My first time making braided egg bread and it turned out perfect. There are only four of us, so I cut the recipe in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Braided Easter Egg Bread

Round, braided Easter bread decorated with natural or dyed eggs.

How to Make Easter Bread

See how to make traditional braided Easter bread with a simple glaze.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States