Braided Egg Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
Help! The first time I made this bread it was beautiful. The second time the braids pulled away from center. I am not sure what I did wrong. Monicatfp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
ABSOLUTELY AMAZING BREAD! Recipe makes 2 giant loaves though. =) Lots of work, but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Medic's Wife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warsaw, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
The recipe was ENORMOUS! It mad two huge loaves. It was very good but a little dry, so I think next time I will try a previous tip and add potato flakes. I did brush the top fo one with egg white and honey, and the other with egg white and cinnamon and sugar. Made them much better, but I think next time I will incorporate the items into the dough as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Kitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
Made a few minor changes as suggested and it turned out wonderful. My braiding was not perfect though. : ) Well make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenniferthum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
I am confused as to which bread I made a couple years ago and thought this was it. Although it is really good and easy to make it didn't have the flavor I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Afor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
WOW - what an amazing loaf of bread that i made. I made this for easter sunday with my 2 children. I made it into a ring and the only change i made was that i added about a tablespoon of fennel. I can't tell you how amazing it was. Everyone not only loved the bread but they were amazed at the size and taste. I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westlake Village, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
Made this bread for the first time for Easter this year. After making into a braid and it doubled in size, we thought the dough was going to take over the kitchen. Huge does not describe this dough - we need a much larger word. After baking, however, the bread did disappear in a very short period of time. It was excellent, just a little scary at first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Imperial, Missouri, USA
Living In: Robertsville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JenPayne
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly; it made two huge loaves and they turned out wonderful. I used the dough hook attachment on my Kitchen Aid mixer to knead the dough and there was so much that it barely fit in my mixing bowl. I wouldn't know how it keeps... it was gone at the end of dinner. Everyone commented on its distinctive taste and how it would make great sandwich bread for any leftover Easter ham. Unfortunately we will not know. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenPayne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wampum, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
Just made this bread. I cut the recipe in half since its just me and my husband here to eat it. My bread turned out huge but really yummy. The house smells great too. Haha! I did have to add about another 1/2 cup of flour because it was still too sticky and did forget to save an egg to make an egg wash but it still turned out great. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willingboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Schweinfurt, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
This is a family favorite. Only problem w/ this recipe is that we have no baking pan big enough to make a loaf that huge (who does, except a proffessional bakery?) So I cut the recipe in half and the loaf fits nicely on an average size pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BonAppetit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Easter Bread

See how to make traditional braided Easter bread with a simple glaze.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States