Braided Egg Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
This is a WONDERFUL challah recipe. You can half it if you don't want quite as much bread. I knead mine in my large kitchen aid and I substitute honey for the last 1/2 C of water. It makes for a sweeter more authentic challah. I also add about 1/2 tsp salt due to the added sweetness from the honey. You can make it just as is and it's still wonderful and makes amazing french toast the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngPayne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Smiths, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I am updating this review. I made it again, followd the recpe exactly and ended up with 3 beautiful braided loaves. I'm sure in my earlier effort (below) I used the wrong amount of yeast, and possibly other ingredients. Don't do that! I don't know what happened, or what I did wrong. I scaled the recipe down, using the online tool, and used 2 pks of yeast and the proportional amount of ingredients. I followed the directions exactly. I even portioned out the amount of water/milk to use at the beginning and along the way. The dough was soft, as indicated in the recipe, and rose as I expected it to. But it was so soft that even after it rose to double or more its original size, it was still so soft that it was impossible to braid! It was closer to slime than braidable bread dough. I worked in more flour as I tried to stiffen it up enough to braid, and eventually gave up and just sort of "fake braided" it so it looked a little closer to a braided egg bread. It tasted ok after baked, but I'm sure that the extra flour I added affected the flavor. Has anyone else had trouble braiding this? I may try it again in the future. I did this on a very busy and stressful Christmas Eve, so maybe I slipped up somewhere. I've had success with other breads before, but this one was a real challenge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Freeland, Maryland, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
I tired this recipe because I wanted to make bread and I had these ingredients and it had good reviews. This was easy to make and it looks great. The bread taste OK...not great...just OK I thought it was a little dense..but nothing bad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
I have never made challah before and I think it was a success. I did make a few updates: change the serving size to 15, proof the yeast with 1tbs sugar, substituted honey for sugar, and sprinkled sugar on top of the loaf. I did feel like recipe was missing something though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
made this except added 1/4 cup of honey. Made a HUGE Loaf and is wonerful. Sprinked poppey seeds on top. Wonderful loaf, the best I've ever made. Made it in my kitchen aid. Will make it again as my everday bread. The best bread I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
I made this to give to my in-laws in my attempts to win them over. If this doesn't do it, nothing will. I made 2 loaves, one for my mother-in-law and father-in-law, the other for my sister-in-law and her husband. My husband came home to the finished product only to be disappointed that they weren't for us. My sister-in-law ate 1 whole loaf by herself before her daughter and husband even knew it was there. My MIL and FIL devoured their loaf in 1 day, saying how delicious and pretty it was. I will definitely make this again as it turned our so well the first time (I followed these directions exactly), but it was very time consuming, so until then, my poor husband will continue to request and wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
Wow! This bread will make you a star in the kitchen. My farm makes this with our fresh products and this sells like crazy. This bread is worth the time and love it takes to prepare it. Don't shy away. I work the entire recipe by hand and it produces beautiful results. I like the tip about throwing in a tablespoon of instant potato flakes. When this gets out of the oven I like taking honey butter and rubbing it into the loaf. The shine with the egg white and the aroma makes those passing by weak at the knees! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karisma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Twentynine Palms, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
I halved the recipe and it still made a HUGE and delicious loaf... it was the prettiest bread EVER i am not a bread baker... most of my breads fail BUT this recipe ROCKS I even used fat free soy milk in the recipe! it turned out SO well it really was the highlight of my families Easter table. (for me at least)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by strayredbolt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Thanks to the easy-to-follow directions, and for all of the helpful hints from previous reviews, this recipe was my first successful yeast bread! Everyone loved it, not a crumb was left! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manitou Springs, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Delicious and so easy to make. It looked like it was made at a specialty bakery!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Easter Bread

See how to make traditional braided Easter bread with a simple glaze.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States