Braided Egg Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
Awesome recipe. I made one huge loaf and everyone thought it was fake. Mine did not look like the picture...it looked like a professional bread, not at all homemade. It had a wonderful, mildly sweet taste. One hint...if you braid for one large loaf, remove your top oven rack. This thing comes to life once it starts baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
Excellent recipe. I did not use the sesame seeds. I also made 2 loaves because I found the dough easier to braid when it was a thinner rope.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
totally awesome recipe! easy and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
Turned out pretty well. I used some organic whole wheat flour from here in CO, ditched the seasame seeds, used less flour, and instead of glazing it in just egg, I used egg whites, lemon juice, and melted butter, and that was great! The crust was nice and crispy, and the inside was soft and chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
Excellent recipe. I saw that another baker thought theirs came out dry. I add four tablespoons of dry potato flakes and it keeps softer longer. Adjusting the flour make make the bread too light to hold up. Traditionally, I make Challah with one huge braid on the bottom and tuck a tiny braid of four strands onto the top. I also use a bit of yellow food coloring to enhance the 'egg bread' appearance. Using an egg wash over the top after rising makes the loaf shiny and helps the sesame seeds to stick. Great entry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
Wonderful flavor. For my large family I had to double the batch to bake 2 braids instead of one. (My husband & I have 6 daughters & 11 sons, 7 of our sons live at home ages 23 down to 7. Can they ever eat, especially homemade bread from scratch! (Thank goodness for our double oven - we bake one braid in the top oven & the other braid in the lower oven.) This is a pretty bread that is perfect any time of the year. It is a nice variety from traditional loaf bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: Beaver Crossing, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
Made some lovely bread (two very large loaves...could easily have made 3 or 4 regular-sized loaves). Only complaint is that bread was a bit dry/dense...next time I make it I will probably reduce to 9 or 10 cups of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2004
A wonderful recipe. I made 4 average size loaves from this recipe. They are wonderful Easter gifts. Everyone remarked how beautiful they looked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2003
Delicious! I only used 9.5 cups of flour instead of 11 and it turned out perfect. It made 2 HUGE loves so split this recipe in two. Definately in my favorites file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richland, Washington, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2003
Very, very good!!!! Everything went according to plan. It made two HUGE loaves as big as large cookie sheets. I'm glad I split the dough in half because my oven wouldn't have been big enough otherwise! LOL I gave the extra loaf to my neighbor and she loved it and thought it was too pretty to cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Easter Bread

See how to make traditional braided Easter bread with a simple glaze.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States