Braided Egg Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
Delicious! We made this for our first Sabbath meal together last night and my husband and daughter both loved it. Thank you for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
This was ok. I've had better egg bread. I made two loaves instead of one. I thought it was on the dry side. I'll try other recipes in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macomb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rock Island, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HappyMeg
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
I'm a very occasional bread maker, so I am always a little worried that I'm going to mess something up. However, this was easy and turned out perfect! It was a very tasty bread and looked beautiful! No one could believe that I made such a giant loaf! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyMeg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
Really yummy bread! My friend made this recipe for everyone several times now and each time it was gone in a flash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longview, Washington, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
Awesome recipe. I made one huge loaf and everyone thought it was fake. Mine did not look like the picture...it looked like a professional bread, not at all homemade. It had a wonderful, mildly sweet taste. One hint...if you braid for one large loaf, remove your top oven rack. This thing comes to life once it starts baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
Excellent recipe. I did not use the sesame seeds. I also made 2 loaves because I found the dough easier to braid when it was a thinner rope.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
totally awesome recipe! easy and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
Turned out pretty well. I used some organic whole wheat flour from here in CO, ditched the seasame seeds, used less flour, and instead of glazing it in just egg, I used egg whites, lemon juice, and melted butter, and that was great! The crust was nice and crispy, and the inside was soft and chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
Excellent recipe. I saw that another baker thought theirs came out dry. I add four tablespoons of dry potato flakes and it keeps softer longer. Adjusting the flour make make the bread too light to hold up. Traditionally, I make Challah with one huge braid on the bottom and tuck a tiny braid of four strands onto the top. I also use a bit of yellow food coloring to enhance the 'egg bread' appearance. Using an egg wash over the top after rising makes the loaf shiny and helps the sesame seeds to stick. Great entry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
Wonderful flavor. For my large family I had to double the batch to bake 2 braids instead of one. (My husband & I have 6 daughters & 11 sons, 7 of our sons live at home ages 23 down to 7. Can they ever eat, especially homemade bread from scratch! (Thank goodness for our double oven - we bake one braid in the top oven & the other braid in the lower oven.) This is a pretty bread that is perfect any time of the year. It is a nice variety from traditional loaf bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: Beaver Crossing, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Braided Easter Egg Bread

Round, braided Easter bread decorated with natural or dyed eggs.

How to Make Easter Bread

See how to make traditional braided Easter bread with a simple glaze.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States