Braided Egg Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Best bread recipe ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Upon reading others replies I added an extra egg and increased the sugar a tad, so the bread would not turn out bland or dry. Turned out to be a great hit at Sunday dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beaufort, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
I made this in a bread machine...not sure how I messed it up but came out like cake batter. I added about 2-3 cups of flour and needed on a cutting board. It didn't look the best but had good feedback from my husband and ladies at the church. I will try this recipe again...hopefully better luck not using the bread machine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cierra
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
I loved this recipe! This was my first time making bread and I was really nervous about the outcome but it tasted great! ( I forgot to add the salt but then i spread it with salted real butter and it helped out alot). The only thing I will do differently next time is that I wont braid it so intricately because it made so much crust and I prefer the soft inside. Thanks for the recipe :)!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cierra

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
i'm terrible at making bread! I can make anything but a soft crusted bread.....I nailed this one! It turned out beautiful and it reminded my husband of the challah bread he had eaten on Chanukkas from when he was younger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mahlia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA
Photo by LeeAnnetteJ
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I made this yesterday to accompany some soup. The whole loaf was gone that night. My boyfriend and adult son said this was the best bread they have EVER had. I took 2 suggestions from others. 4 whole eggs plus one egg yolk and 3 T. olive oil. AWESOME!! Thank you! Update: 12/11/10 I have made this recipe several times since I first reviewed. This time I added 1/4 C. Olive Oil instead of 3 T. - much more moist!!! Awesome!!! This is still the whole family's favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeeAnnetteJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Delicious! This bread was very light and fluffy, and the poppy seeds added a nice touch :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
The bread looked amazing and had a fluffy texture, but when I tasted it it was very dry and bland. In fact, I'm kind of ashamed that I gave a wedge away to someone! It's edible, but it has to have something on it. The recipe needs more eggs, and milk should be used instead of water. Butter subbed for the oil wouldn't hurt it either. Sorry, but "Sy's Challah" is still my go-to egg bread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 400luv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heather
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
So I made this for Easter cause I didn't have enough eggs for another bread and it came out great I doubled the recipe for 2 loaves and they came out great (except that it was 82 degrees that day so one loaf didn't braid that well got sticky) I also used cinnamon on top cause I don't keep poppy seeds often. Everyone loved it and they didn't believe that I made it lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairport, New York, USA
Photo by Miba
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
This bread was excellent! The first I've made that came out right. I did what others did and added an extra egg. I did not add an extra yolk because I was lazy and didn't feel like dealing with that. I also bumped up the sugar to 1/3 cup. I didn't have any poppy seeds so I left them off. I don't really like eggs (I was making this for my husband), so I was worried that I wouldn't like this, but I did! I loved it! It needed butter though, but once we put butter on it it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States