Braided Easter Egg Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
The flavor and color of this was great. However, it took way longer to rise than what the recipe stats. I will make this again but may add more sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chef lauren
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
Great! This was my second attempt since the dog ate the first one I made while it was rising outside in the sun (she was lucky it was a holy day). I only had six eggs left so two in the bread and four on top just in time for Easter dinner. It was a huge hit and everyone loved it. Light and slightly doughy. I probably could've taken it out of the oven after 35-40 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chef lauren

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Game_Gourmet
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
I had a lot of fun making this bread! As others have noted be sure to keep an eye on your bread in the oven. Ours only baked about 20 minutes before it was ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
My eggs exploded, one 'blew its top' in the oven. The other surprised my grandson. What a fun bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
my loaf came out like the vid. the pic looks like it's using an egg wash to create that glossy finish. i was hoping for that glossy yellow appearance:/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lissa Thornton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
The ingredients were right on. I would add flour as I was kneading the dough when it started to stick to my board. I let it rise in the oiled bowl and just a bare sprinkle of flour it prevent it from sticking when I was making the long roll. I didn't put eggs in it but sprinkled sesame seeds on top. Saved it and will make again. Dina hess
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Hess
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
I followed this recipe exactly as written, wanting to create a really special Easter Bread for this year's holiday. The high review count pulled me in, and it wasn't until I was ready to knead the dough I knew things were going to go horribly. I began reading the poor reviews, and most of them are accurate. The measurements to this recipe are not correct. You will end up with something closer to pancake batter, then whether you begin adding flour and amending in the mixing bowl in hopes to knead, or you do so on the counter, you end up with a recipe heavily dominated with components sure to give you a dry bland bread that may or may not rise. I'm horribly disappointed. Recommend this recipe to no one - and encourage people to continue reviewing. With a bit more due diligence on my end I could have saved my Easter, and my afternoon, because, oh yeah, the prep time isn't accurate either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
This is a very nostalgic recipe that was wonderful to make. It was fairly easy and it only had to bake for 20 minutes. I actually used pre-dyed eggs from the supermarket that never blended into the dough. I also basted the dough with egg yolk before baking to give it that pretty glow. Would definitely do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
The recipe was easy, and I was so excited. I spent all morning on it with waiting for it to rise and whatnot. I baked it on the shorter side for 50 mins at 350 degrees and it's hard as a brick. My oven doesn't cook high and I've never burnt anything before. 50 mins is way too long. I can't bring this to feed to my friends for Easter dinner. I'm devastated. I don't have time to make another one and the grocery stores around here don't seem to make Easter bread. If I ever do this again I'd check it at 30 mins to see what it looks like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
I LOVE this recipe! However I have a funny story to tell. This year I decided to make the bread without the eggs as I am having a lot of overnight company and didn't want to be busy the day of the meal or the day before. So...I emailed my family and asked if anyone would mind if the bread had the coloured eggs separate from the bread. Well, my family are known for their offbeat humour and I got some interesting responses from "Well, then we just won't come!" to "Well then, I'm going to bring some food coloring to pour on the bread so it looks authentic"(this because some of the dye always seemed to leak onto the bread). The problem is that though the bread looks and tastes wonderful we always wasted a lot as people were suspicious of whether the eggs were properly cooked or not. So this year a change in tradition from 1993 till 2014.And we'll all have a good laugh:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Braided Easter Egg Bread

Round, braided Easter bread decorated with natural or dyed eggs.

How to Make Easter Bread

See how to make traditional braided Easter bread with a simple glaze.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States