Braided Easter Egg Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MAINE-MOMMY
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
I've alread reviewed this recipe, but I wanted to add something about preventing the color from bleeding. I dyed my eggs for hours to get a rich, dark color. Once they were done I rinsed them in water and dried them very well. When I inserted them into the ring I tried to put them in as deep as possible. Hopefully this helps! Original Review: Beautiful bread! I had to add a little more flour when kneading and shortened the baking time! Perfect!! I made one yesterday for Easter, but my family ate it up so I had to bake another today and it came out even better. Put on sprinkles for added color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
349 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAINE-MOMMY

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
I love how simple the ingrediants are for this recipe. I've made it several times, the first time I followed the directions exactly, it took all afternoon with all the rising, but it came out great. Since then, i have just thrown everything in my bread machine and placing it on the dough setting, then when finished, i roll out the dough and braid it, let it rise and bake. It's a lot easier for me and still tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
173 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B Spradley
Living In: La Mirada, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2005
This was a fun bread to make. The dough was easy to make in my mixer. I doubled the recipe and ended up with a wreath of braided bread. I put brown eggs in the wreath, and filled the center with our dyed easter eggs. It made a beautiful centerpiece for Easter. The bread was good, and I peeled the eggs and they were cooked through. I used eggs straight from the fridge and they were not noticibly warm after the loaf rose. However, the finished loaf should probably be refrigerated for storage if you plan on eating the eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2002
I made this bread years ago - it was great and people are always impressed by how the colored eggs bake with the bread. I lost the recipe - it's so good to find it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2003
This is the recipe I have been searching for. It tastes just like the Easter breads available in fine Italian bakeries in NYC. Very easy to prepare. The delicately sweet flavor and light fluffy texture of the bread is irresistable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2005
Wonderful! I made the dough in my bread machine to save time and effort and only put two eggs into the braid. I painted on the coloring so it didn't bleed into the bread too much. My mother-in-law actually took a picture of it! It tasted great, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chester, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
Wow! this bread was easy and very tasty. The first one isn't cold yet and I'm already starting to make more. As others have stated mine only took about 25 minutes to bake to a perfect golden brown. Way to go Holly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
I made this bread for my daughters class and the kids oohed and ahhed over it. It was gobbled up in minutes. The presentation is beautiful. I only baked it for 25 minutes. Watch the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Scott Lakin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2001
Great bread, flavorfull and lots of fun. Its great to serve at the table and surprise your guest! Fun and family friendly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
Thank You Holly for your recipe! It went over great today at the Easter Party. My daughter made this. She baked it for only 15 minutes, removed the eggs since it was doughy around them and cooked the bread five more minutes. She only used 4 eggs. If your not thrilled with the idea of baked eggs you can always make sure there is room for them on the bread and add colored easter egss after the bread is baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Easter Bread

See how to make traditional braided Easter bread with a simple glaze.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States