Braided Easter Egg Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2001
Great bread, flavorfull and lots of fun. Its great to serve at the table and surprise your guest! Fun and family friendly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2002
I made this bread years ago - it was great and people are always impressed by how the colored eggs bake with the bread. I lost the recipe - it's so good to find it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2003
This is the recipe I have been searching for. It tastes just like the Easter breads available in fine Italian bakeries in NYC. Very easy to prepare. The delicately sweet flavor and light fluffy texture of the bread is irresistable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2003
Very tasty bread and has a sweet hint - found that 50-55 minutes was a bit too long for cooking though - 30-35 minutes worked out better in my oven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2004
Bread has a wonderful sweet flavor. Makes a nice presentation, not to mention aroma filled the house! Would cut the cooking time down approximately 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2004
I followed this recipe exactly. The listed cooking time was about twice as long as mine took. So I would caution everyone to watch this carefully. Second, although the raw eggs cooked beautifully as described, it bothers me that the raw eggs are left in a warm environment for up to an hour during the final rise. The eggs make for a nice presentation but I would not eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2004
My mother's aunt makes this bread but will not part with the recipe. So my mother and her sister have tried for years to duplicate this bread. Imagine my mother's surprise when she came to my house for Easter this year, and I served this bread! I have given her the recipe and she is so hapy! Thank you, Holly, for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2004
Outstanding! What a good bread. I haven't made homemade bread in oh-so-many years. Eggs baked up well, right inside the bread braids; only negative is that the food coloring leaked into the bread a bit. Bread didn't need the whole baking time and I ended up adding about a 1/4C more flour than the recipe called for. And it turned out so good! Golden brown, very slightly sweet, didn't even need butter. This will become a tradition now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2004
My family and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mantua, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2004
This bread is delicious and very attractive. I made it without the decorative eggs. For my oven, the baking time was just 25 minutes (not 55 minutes as recommended) for a lovely, golden bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Easter Bread

See how to make traditional braided Easter bread with a simple glaze.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States