Braided Easter Egg Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by mary.groesser@yahoo.com
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I gave this 4 stars because I think the recipe could be simplied. Like others, I put all the ingredients into my bread machine, then took the dough out, rolled it and braided it, added the colored (uncooked) eggs, let it rise (40 mins), brushed it with melted butter, then baked for ONLY 20 mins. untill golden colored. Watch carefully not to over bake. I added a sugar-water glaze to the top for shine and added sprinkles after the bread was cooled. Over all... I liked it with the minor ajustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
This bread was super easy and really delicious! I grew up with this bread being made at Easter and made 4 loaves to bring for the people I'm spending Easter with. Its time consuming, but pretty easy. And came out so well! It only took 30 minutes of bake time, even for the biggest loaves I made. Next time I'm going to add raisins and dried fruit pieces like my mom used to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
It's delicious but my dough didn't rise. I followed the recipe to the letter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
I love this recipe and the final product. It only took 20 minutes to bake to golden brown. Glad I read the reviews. Although I put the colored eggs deep in the bread, the color ran a bit. Next time I will put small pieces of plastic wrap on the eggs when I put the wet warm towel on top of the final product for the last rising period. Hopefully this will help with the color bleeding and losing color on top of the egg. An impressive dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
I tweaked this recipe a little - first used my Kitchen Aid mixer - used blade at the start then kneading hook for 8 min kneading - used approx. 3 cups of flour - added one egg (could probably add a 4th)- 2 tblsp. lemon zest - increased the sugar - and one cup of golden raisins (added during the last 5 min. of kneading) - next time I will increase the yeast by one package. This dough is sticky - use flour on board for ease of handling -- This bread comes out as a sweet bread tender and flavorful - reminds me of the easter bread I had as a child - It is great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
I made this last year for Easter, and the only complaint from my family I had about it was I didn't make enough cause some people were mad that they didn't get to eat it. It is very easy, and my husband told me that I have to make it this year. I will be making at least 4 to hand out to family. Thanks for sharing this easy and loving recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TracySadler
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
This came out beautifully first try! I kept sprinkling my work surface flour to keep the dough from sticking while I was kneading it. For me it didn't take the whole 50 minutes to bake only 40. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
very good recipe, if we add more sugar and brush at the end with egg, it is a traditional Greek recipe , an Easter cake called tsoureki.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
I made this last Easter and it went over pretty well. I did not use the eggs but I did use colorful sprinkles for a pretty Easter touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LSBUI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I'm glad to see this recipe again too! Many years ago I had my students make this in Home Ec. It was always a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Braided Easter Egg Bread

Round, braided Easter bread decorated with natural or dyed eggs.

How to Make Easter Bread

See how to make traditional braided Easter bread with a simple glaze.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States