Braided Easter Egg Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Fabulous, not at all dry like some. Instead of brushing with butter, bake plain then when cool, spread on a confectionery sugar glaze with sprinkles. Adds a wow factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Easy to make, and it reminds me of my grandma. I found this recipe after my mom and I talked about old family easter traditions. My grandma used to make this at easter all the time... so I made it with my daughter and it brought back memories of my grandma and my dad.... I told my grandma that I could now make her easter egg bread and I watched my 100 year old grandma tear up knowing I was carrying on the tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bakesie
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Thank you for posting this wonderful traditional bread. This is the only authentic recipe I have found. I increased the sugar because I like the bread sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakesie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Great Recipe!! I feel the dough was very easy to make.. it took a little longer to rise...I have one suggestion I feel you should definitely add orange and or lemon zest to the recipe.. it needs more flavor... On a positive note the bread was very moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
My family loves this traditional Italian Easter bread. I couldn't find my grandmother's recipe and therefore I was delighted when I discovered this recipe on AllRecipes. Just like grandma's! I added a bit more lemon zest! DELIGHTFUL! AN ITALIAN MUST-HAVE AT EASTER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CYNDIE4
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Was just like we all remembered having at any family Easter gatherings! would definitely make again!! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Roscoe, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by marycat337
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
i made this for a little party at a coworkers house. i baked cookies and placed them around the platter, and put candy in the center. the bread was sweet and soft on the inside, and the crust was just the right amount of toughness. Delicious and cute. people even ate the eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marycat337

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
This looked very pretty and impressed our Easter guests. However, the bread never rose and it tasted horrible. Am I missing something? I thought you were supposed to mix yeast with warm water first but this recipe didn't have that so we didn't do it. Just wondering what we can do better next time because it really was a lovely centerpiece on our Easter table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
Wonderful flavored bread! The dough was sticky, just like the dough I make for cinnamon rolls, but you just have to use extra flour when you work with it--adding too much extra flour to the dough when kneading will make a tough, dry bread. I sprinkled it with cinnamon sugar, so the whole production smelled delicious! The only issue I took with this recipe is the baking time. I reduced to to 25 minutes, and still thought the bread was overdone. (The raw eggs were still cooked through with this shorter time.) I used the leftover bread to make bread pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlebury, Indiana, USA
Living In: Atmore, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
i made this for easter and it turned out great. everyone was so curious about the eggs, we cracked one open at the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Easter Bread

See how to make traditional braided Easter bread with a simple glaze.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

How to Make Pita Bread

See how to make delicious homemade pita bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States