Braided Easter Egg Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
It's delicious but my dough didn't rise. I followed the recipe to the letter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
I love this recipe and the final product. It only took 20 minutes to bake to golden brown. Glad I read the reviews. Although I put the colored eggs deep in the bread, the color ran a bit. Next time I will put small pieces of plastic wrap on the eggs when I put the wet warm towel on top of the final product for the last rising period. Hopefully this will help with the color bleeding and losing color on top of the egg. An impressive dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
I tweaked this recipe a little - first used my Kitchen Aid mixer - used blade at the start then kneading hook for 8 min kneading - used approx. 3 cups of flour - added one egg (could probably add a 4th)- 2 tblsp. lemon zest - increased the sugar - and one cup of golden raisins (added during the last 5 min. of kneading) - next time I will increase the yeast by one package. This dough is sticky - use flour on board for ease of handling -- This bread comes out as a sweet bread tender and flavorful - reminds me of the easter bread I had as a child - It is great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
I made this last year for Easter, and the only complaint from my family I had about it was I didn't make enough cause some people were mad that they didn't get to eat it. It is very easy, and my husband told me that I have to make it this year. I will be making at least 4 to hand out to family. Thanks for sharing this easy and loving recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TracySadler
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
This came out beautifully first try! I kept sprinkling my work surface flour to keep the dough from sticking while I was kneading it. For me it didn't take the whole 50 minutes to bake only 40. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
very good recipe, if we add more sugar and brush at the end with egg, it is a traditional Greek recipe , an Easter cake called tsoureki.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
I made this last Easter and it went over pretty well. I did not use the eggs but I did use colorful sprinkles for a pretty Easter touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LSBUI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I'm glad to see this recipe again too! Many years ago I had my students make this in Home Ec. It was always a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Our family makes this sweet bread for Easter and love it. I posted your recipe on the Montillo Italian Foods' Facebook page for others to try. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
We've made this in my Italian family for generations. Our version has freshly grated lemon peel and lemon juice, and we sprinkle the top with tiny multi-colored candies for a festive look. It's wonderful toasted and slathered with butter for breakfast, along with one of the hard cooked eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Easter Bread

See how to make traditional braided Easter bread with a simple glaze.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States