Braided Easter Egg Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
This bread looked beautiful but the time was too long - I took it out of the oven after 45 minutes and it was a bit dark and dry (family still loved it though!). Next time I make it I'm going to start watching it around 35 minutes. [Also, I dyed the eggs using food coloring gel (several toothpick fulls) in a cup of hot water and 1/4 c. white vinegar. The dye didn't run at all on the bread except for right where the egg was sitting.]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Demara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wasilla, Alaska, USA
Living In: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
I doubled the recipe and decided no coloured eggs; we just sprinkled with coloured sugar. It needed at least 3 cups of flour more than directed, but otherwise I followed the instruction to a T. It's pretty, so braided, and you look like a great baker:-) it's very good when tepid, tends to get stale very quickly (you can toast it, or make french toast casserole, like I did; but it seems a pity, after all): I used an egg wash, anyway go easy with the oven, 5/10 min less were quite enough for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
wonderful!!!!!!!great bread, fun, easy, now thinking to make for baby showers using pink and blue eggs!!!!!! 5 star
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
This was fantastic! Exactly what I was looking for! I did not add the colored eggs, but it looked very pretty braided. Instead of brushing it with butter, I used an egg wash, so it came out very shiny (baked it uncovered for 20 minutes then tented it with foil for the remaining time to avoid over browning). I also baked it on a sheet of parchment rather than a buttered cookie sheet, and clean up was super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hayley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bound Brook, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
I found the bread to be beautiful but basically bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I made this but instead of making the dough. I used frozen bread dough and cut it in half and twisted it! Very good! Kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hickory, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Very easy to make. Of all the recipes I use for bread so far, this is the more satisfying in terms of taste and texture. It did not take long to make either, 40 minutes in the oven, Great recipe. My wife, who is not a big bread fan, ate most of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Easy to make, nice dough. It needed 1/4 cup extra flour. I made one following directions exactly and it was over cooked, dry and very dark brown. I made a second used an egg wash instead of melted butter and baked for only 30 minutes. It came out beautifully and everyone liked it. I plan to leave out the eggs and add herbs next time, my sister in law added food coloring to hers instead of the eggs and it was very cute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Plaines, Illinois, USA
Living In: Poplar Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ilkaisha
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I followed MAINE-MOMMY's directions about dying the eggs and preventing running colors. However, I suggest using food color and water, rather than the pellets with vinegar. They seemed to eat away a thin layer of the egg, and the colors weren't as bright as they might have otherwise. I had very minimal color loss into the bread. I also noticed after I baked this, that the eggs were dull - but that where I had accidentally gotten butter on them, they were bright. I took a brush and painted butter on them, perking the color right back up. My eggs were slightly underdone when the bread was brown (25 minutes) so next time I might lower the oven temp to 325 to let it bake longer. Other than that, great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilkaisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Ccampbell23
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Made it as described... Perfect! What a great bread. I will make this constantly. We made it today for easter diner and it was the star of the show. Thank you so much for this recipe... better than any bakery bread I ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Braided Easter Egg Bread

Round, braided Easter bread decorated with natural or dyed eggs.

How to Make Easter Bread

See how to make traditional braided Easter bread with a simple glaze.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States