Braided Easter Egg Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Fun and yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KT-LYNN'sCookin!

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
I made this for Easter this year & it went over GREAT! Everyone loved it, even my extra picky-eater nephew & BIL, & my DH's Gramma who has almost stopped eating (advanced stages of Alzheimer's-everything is either "too sweet or too salty" to her) asked for a second piece! Of course the kids were impressed that the eggs cooked in the oven. The only alterations I made to the recipie were to use 6 colored eggs (a rainbow of color), which I allowed to completely dry, then lightly coated with oil before placing in the braid (which helped minimize color bleed), & about half way through baking I basted it with butter again & sprinkled on poppy seeds. It has a nice, medium texture-not too light, not too dense, & a slightly sweet taste. Had to print a copy of the recipie for my SIL, who has added it to the family cookbook. Thank you for this new Easter family tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
I made this bread for Easter Sunday 2011, and it turned out not only beautiful on the outside, but sweet and delicious on the inside!! I had to add a bit more flour while kneading it with my mixer and a bread-hook, but every dough needs a little tweaking I suppose. :) A definite recommendation, what a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Perfect!!!! Easy, fast, and beautiful results! Will definetly make again next easter!!!!!! Thanks Marbalet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
This was delicious and beautiful! Unfortunately, it was so pretty as a centerpiece that no one cut into it on easter! But the slices made great "all in one" snacks later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
This was my first try and I thought it was wonderful. I did have a little trouble rolling the dough to a long rope but it worked well until I connected the ends. I want to make this again when I'm not so rushed and can take time to connect it properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Shiner, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
Bread looked great for Easter. Thank goodness I read the other reviewers comments about the time-took mine out of the oven after 30 minutes, and it was perfect. Had a nice degree of sweetness. Definitely need to slice it down before serving or your guest will never cut into it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dianekp

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
This bread looked beautiful but the time was too long - I took it out of the oven after 45 minutes and it was a bit dark and dry (family still loved it though!). Next time I make it I'm going to start watching it around 35 minutes. [Also, I dyed the eggs using food coloring gel (several toothpick fulls) in a cup of hot water and 1/4 c. white vinegar. The dye didn't run at all on the bread except for right where the egg was sitting.]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Demara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wasilla, Alaska, USA
Living In: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
I doubled the recipe and decided no coloured eggs; we just sprinkled with coloured sugar. It needed at least 3 cups of flour more than directed, but otherwise I followed the instruction to a T. It's pretty, so braided, and you look like a great baker:-) it's very good when tepid, tends to get stale very quickly (you can toast it, or make french toast casserole, like I did; but it seems a pity, after all): I used an egg wash, anyway go easy with the oven, 5/10 min less were quite enough for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
wonderful!!!!!!!great bread, fun, easy, now thinking to make for baby showers using pink and blue eggs!!!!!! 5 star
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Easter Bread

See how to make traditional braided Easter bread with a simple glaze.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

How to Make Pita Bread

See how to make delicious homemade pita bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States