Braided Easter Egg Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Fun and yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KT-LYNN'sCookin!

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
I made this for Easter this year & it went over GREAT! Everyone loved it, even my extra picky-eater nephew & BIL, & my DH's Gramma who has almost stopped eating (advanced stages of Alzheimer's-everything is either "too sweet or too salty" to her) asked for a second piece! Of course the kids were impressed that the eggs cooked in the oven. The only alterations I made to the recipie were to use 6 colored eggs (a rainbow of color), which I allowed to completely dry, then lightly coated with oil before placing in the braid (which helped minimize color bleed), & about half way through baking I basted it with butter again & sprinkled on poppy seeds. It has a nice, medium texture-not too light, not too dense, & a slightly sweet taste. Had to print a copy of the recipie for my SIL, who has added it to the family cookbook. Thank you for this new Easter family tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
I made this bread for Easter Sunday 2011, and it turned out not only beautiful on the outside, but sweet and delicious on the inside!! I had to add a bit more flour while kneading it with my mixer and a bread-hook, but every dough needs a little tweaking I suppose. :) A definite recommendation, what a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Perfect!!!! Easy, fast, and beautiful results! Will definetly make again next easter!!!!!! Thanks Marbalet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
This was delicious and beautiful! Unfortunately, it was so pretty as a centerpiece that no one cut into it on easter! But the slices made great "all in one" snacks later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
This was my first try and I thought it was wonderful. I did have a little trouble rolling the dough to a long rope but it worked well until I connected the ends. I want to make this again when I'm not so rushed and can take time to connect it properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Shiner, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
Bread looked great for Easter. Thank goodness I read the other reviewers comments about the time-took mine out of the oven after 30 minutes, and it was perfect. Had a nice degree of sweetness. Definitely need to slice it down before serving or your guest will never cut into it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dianekp

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
This bread looked beautiful but the time was too long - I took it out of the oven after 45 minutes and it was a bit dark and dry (family still loved it though!). Next time I make it I'm going to start watching it around 35 minutes. [Also, I dyed the eggs using food coloring gel (several toothpick fulls) in a cup of hot water and 1/4 c. white vinegar. The dye didn't run at all on the bread except for right where the egg was sitting.]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Demara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wasilla, Alaska, USA
Living In: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
I doubled the recipe and decided no coloured eggs; we just sprinkled with coloured sugar. It needed at least 3 cups of flour more than directed, but otherwise I followed the instruction to a T. It's pretty, so braided, and you look like a great baker:-) it's very good when tepid, tends to get stale very quickly (you can toast it, or make french toast casserole, like I did; but it seems a pity, after all): I used an egg wash, anyway go easy with the oven, 5/10 min less were quite enough for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
wonderful!!!!!!!great bread, fun, easy, now thinking to make for baby showers using pink and blue eggs!!!!!! 5 star
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Easter Bread

See how to make traditional braided Easter bread with a simple glaze.

How to Make Pita Bread

See how to make delicious homemade pita bread.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States