Braided Easter Egg Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Very awesome center piece, but very dry. I will use my own homemade recipe for bread next time I make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Park Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Round Lake Beach, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Not thrilled. I made it 3 times just to be sure I hadn't made a silly mistake but I came out rather consistently dry. Loaf 1: Had to add almost an extra cup of flour to get it dough to a kneading consistency. While it looked pretty but overcooked it was dry. Loaf 2: Worked with an incredibly sticky dough and cut back on the cooking time. Looked pretty but still was a tad tasteless and dry. Loaf 3: Gave up when I was kneading it and rolled the dough, poured 4 tablespoons of melted butter, a half a cup of sugar and 2 tsps of cinnamon , rolled it jelly roll style, formed the ring, cut slits on top and turned into a king cake....better, but I've had better king cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
This bread had a wonderful flavor, not too sweet, and nicely yeasty. It also had a lovely presentation, and was a big hit at our Easter dinner. I am only rating this four stars because I had to make several changes. Like others, I needed to add a full additional 1/2 cup of flour to get my dough to a workable state. Also, I was only able to bake mine for 20 minutes before the top was so dark I had to take it out. Fortunately, the bread was done, but the eggs were not cooked when I cracked one open. I will definitely make this again, both with and without the eggs, but I will turn the oven temp down to 325 degrees, and bake for closer to 35 minutes. I also mixed mine on the dough cycle in my bread machine, removed it after the first punch down, then put it in a greased and covered bowl in the fridge overnight. The next morning, I took it out, divided it, let it rest for 10 minutes, then formed the braid. I also tried oiling my eggs, but that did not prevent color transfer. It was minimal though, and didn't affect the flavor so I wasn't that concerned. No one else was either because the bread disappeared!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHCMEOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
NEVER AGAIN.... I tried this for the first time today, to have it ready for Easter dinner. after forming the braid and brushing it with butter.I let i rise,and it looked great. I bake it at 350.per recipe.. It calls for a baking time of 50 to 55 min. I checked it at 35 min. and it was already gitting very brown..finally at 45 min. i took it out. the crust was dark brown and very hard...I was affraid it would be under baked..after cooling, the crust is rock hard..what a huge disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
I have to start by saying I'm a native New Yorker now living in the Midwest and the whole reason I made this recipe is bc one review said it taste like the bread you get in the NYC bakeries. This bread was so great! I can't find anything like this out here and I'm so greateful to be able to make my own now. I read lots of other reviews and I did make some minor changes bc of the other reviews. I upped the sugar to 1/3 of a cup and next time I think I'll go for 1/2 cup (personal preference) I also skipped the butter and did an eggwash in place of it. I think it made the breads presentation. Finally I checked my bread at 20 mins and took it out at 25 mins and it was perfect! Thanks so much for sharing! It's like having a little piece of home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PeanutsMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
Omg what did I do wrong ,I follow the recipe to a t and my dough did not rised at all ,any ideas ??? ( depresed )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luilui
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Had some egg dye bleeding issues but it was really great and so cute
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
bread is so good and the eggs are just COOL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daysee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Helena, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I made this bread for our Easter celebration. It was a hit. So delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina Barlow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
This was my first bread project, ever! I was very pleased at how easy it was! However, I ended up burning the outside because my oven's . I can never seem to get it to work right. Next time I'll try at a lower temp, for there WILL be a next time! Only thing I didn't do is add the extra eggs. Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inkie pinkie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Easter Bread

See how to make traditional braided Easter bread with a simple glaze.

How to Make Pita Bread

See how to make delicious homemade pita bread.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States