Braided Easter Egg Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Very awesome center piece, but very dry. I will use my own homemade recipe for bread next time I make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Park Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Round Lake Beach, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Not thrilled. I made it 3 times just to be sure I hadn't made a silly mistake but I came out rather consistently dry. Loaf 1: Had to add almost an extra cup of flour to get it dough to a kneading consistency. While it looked pretty but overcooked it was dry. Loaf 2: Worked with an incredibly sticky dough and cut back on the cooking time. Looked pretty but still was a tad tasteless and dry. Loaf 3: Gave up when I was kneading it and rolled the dough, poured 4 tablespoons of melted butter, a half a cup of sugar and 2 tsps of cinnamon , rolled it jelly roll style, formed the ring, cut slits on top and turned into a king cake....better, but I've had better king cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
This bread had a wonderful flavor, not too sweet, and nicely yeasty. It also had a lovely presentation, and was a big hit at our Easter dinner. I am only rating this four stars because I had to make several changes. Like others, I needed to add a full additional 1/2 cup of flour to get my dough to a workable state. Also, I was only able to bake mine for 20 minutes before the top was so dark I had to take it out. Fortunately, the bread was done, but the eggs were not cooked when I cracked one open. I will definitely make this again, both with and without the eggs, but I will turn the oven temp down to 325 degrees, and bake for closer to 35 minutes. I also mixed mine on the dough cycle in my bread machine, removed it after the first punch down, then put it in a greased and covered bowl in the fridge overnight. The next morning, I took it out, divided it, let it rest for 10 minutes, then formed the braid. I also tried oiling my eggs, but that did not prevent color transfer. It was minimal though, and didn't affect the flavor so I wasn't that concerned. No one else was either because the bread disappeared!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHCMEOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
NEVER AGAIN.... I tried this for the first time today, to have it ready for Easter dinner. after forming the braid and brushing it with butter.I let i rise,and it looked great. I bake it at 350.per recipe.. It calls for a baking time of 50 to 55 min. I checked it at 35 min. and it was already gitting very brown..finally at 45 min. i took it out. the crust was dark brown and very hard...I was affraid it would be under baked..after cooling, the crust is rock hard..what a huge disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
I have to start by saying I'm a native New Yorker now living in the Midwest and the whole reason I made this recipe is bc one review said it taste like the bread you get in the NYC bakeries. This bread was so great! I can't find anything like this out here and I'm so greateful to be able to make my own now. I read lots of other reviews and I did make some minor changes bc of the other reviews. I upped the sugar to 1/3 of a cup and next time I think I'll go for 1/2 cup (personal preference) I also skipped the butter and did an eggwash in place of it. I think it made the breads presentation. Finally I checked my bread at 20 mins and took it out at 25 mins and it was perfect! Thanks so much for sharing! It's like having a little piece of home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PeanutsMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
Omg what did I do wrong ,I follow the recipe to a t and my dough did not rised at all ,any ideas ??? ( depresed )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luilui
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Had some egg dye bleeding issues but it was really great and so cute
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
bread is so good and the eggs are just COOL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daysee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Helena, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I made this bread for our Easter celebration. It was a hit. So delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina Barlow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
This was my first bread project, ever! I was very pleased at how easy it was! However, I ended up burning the outside because my oven's . I can never seem to get it to work right. Next time I'll try at a lower temp, for there WILL be a next time! Only thing I didn't do is add the extra eggs. Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inkie pinkie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Easter Bread

See how to make traditional braided Easter bread with a simple glaze.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

How to Make Pita Bread

See how to make delicious homemade pita bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States