Braided Easter Egg Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Airbornemama
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I think the recipe is wonderful. However, I had a really hard time rolling the dough to make the desired two lengths to braid the bread with. I'm sure it was something I did wrong. Perhaps I didn't let it rise long enough, I don't know. My Easter Braided bread turned out to look like an Easter Python. Please see attached photo and don't laugh. I'm still bringing it to Easter dinner this evening. Have a wonderful Easter :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Airbornemama
Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I made this as written.... OK... I had to add more flour; about 3/4 cup more all together. But it turned out great. I didn't really get bleeding from the colored eggs after I put a thin coat of olive oil on them prior to placing them in the dough. I glazed with a powdered sugar/orange juice glaze. I think it turned out pretty great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mikeswastedtime

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
This is the first time that I have made bread. It came out beautiful. I washed the eggs and put them into the bread before dying them. Once the bread was done, I dyed the eggs and put them back into the holes I created with the eggs. I would suggest putting a little bit of egg whites on top to make the bread look shiny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
Excellent! Made this for a friend of mine For Easter and They loved it! Nice and soft and fluffy it tasted Amazing and super simple to make..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
I put anise favoring in and it is dELISH !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
This recipe is wonderful. I have made it as is, added cinnamon, raisins etc. for hot cross buns, made loaves and braids. Always terrific. I have found consistently that the baking time is far too long. The recipe as is makes one very large loaf and took about 30 min to bake. Divided into 2 smaller loaves or into buns you would need to adjust time accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by marykevinaz
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Good recipe. I made this last year for Good Friday. I added slivered almonds and golden raisins. When it was still warm I put some vanilla frosting and sprinkles on top. I am going to make this again on Good Friday this year. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marykevinaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
Okay, so i wanted to make a easy bread today just for fun and it turned out great. I use about 1/4 cup more of flour, only 1 egg, 1/2 tbsp more butter, and 1 tsp more milk. I am not sure if my oven cooks faster but the bread only took 23 minutes. I also did not use the eggs on top of the bread. After I brushed the butter on top of the bread I sprinkled sugar on top for a nice twist. It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
I was pretty nervous to try this recipe, as I had never made homemade bread before. However, it turned out WONDERFULLY! It was extremely soft on the inside, and nicely browned on the outside. I took this to the office since my husband and I couldn't eat it all ourselves, and everyone loved it. I'll be bringing this to my family's Easter dinner in the future!! Thank you marbalet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Beloit, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
i had to add almost an extra cup of flour to create a dough for kneading. and cooked for 23 minutes instead of the stated 50-55 minutes. otherwise everything was fine. i will try adding another egg and more sugar next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colette
Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Braided Easter Egg Bread

Round, braided Easter bread decorated with natural or dyed eggs.

How to Make Easter Bread

See how to make traditional braided Easter bread with a simple glaze.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States