Braided Easter Egg Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by Marie
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
This was my first attempt at making bread from scratch. It was alot of fun and it looked and tasted great. I served it on Easter Sunday with honey butter and got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Portage, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Baked this for Easter Sunday Dinner. Makes a beautiful addition to the table. Everyone loved the bread but hated to slice into it and mess up the pretty bread. But, after the first bite they destroyed the pretty and left the crumbs! Thank you for sharing the Easter Egg Bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I used six eggs in my loaf. I also divided the dough into 3 portions and rolled each into 36" ropes. I used an egg wash and nonpareils for decoration. The dough is very easy to work with and the results are beautiful. I blogged this recipe and my changes:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Awesome recipe! This was my first attempt at making bread and it was very easy to do. I think it needs a little salt or maybe a little more sugar (or both) BUT its great as is. My husband was in awe (he's not much of a baker) when I told him the raw, dyed eggs would bake with the bread. He loved it. We will most definately make this again in the near futre but maybe without the eggs, make it into a braided loaf instead of a wreath and use it for sandwiches. Oh, and my eggs were completely done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Davidica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I rarely rate a recipe this low but I can't think of anything about it that turned out right except that the eggs looked pretty. I've made breads before and I followed the recipe exactly, and the dough was incredibly sticky, the braid was very difficult to make and looked like a big circle not a twist. If it had at least tasted good I would've been OK with the way it looked, but it was horrible. Not sure what went wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole1213

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watsonville, California, USA
Living In: Freedom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stephanie Clunis
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I made this today but started the process last night and it turned out wonderful! After i divided the dough into two balls i refrigerated the dough with a damp towel and then saran wrapped it. The next day i turned on the oven and set the dough on the counter near the oven to let it rise. I followed the rest of the recipe and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Clunis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Upper Darby, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
This turned out great!! Tasted just like my grandma's coffee cake w/o the sugar on top, and not as crumbly. I did have to add a lot more flour, as other people said. But I did cook it for the whole 50 minutes - I did take the eggs out around 30 mins in. Next time I would use white eggs and then dye them after - they come out very easily. OH and I have to note that this was my first successful attempt at using yeast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by keri marion
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
the dough is spot-on. i made two small braids wit an egg each out of half the dough. the other half i used for cinnamon rolls. light and tender - delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keri marion

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
fun and easy (for bread)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GreedyGretchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Station, Indiana, USA
Living In: Sylva, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I made this yesterday for my husband's family. This will now become a tradition... they asked me to make for next year! the colored eggs in the bread are very impressive. I'm now making another loaf today :) the sweetness of the bread is addictive, plus my whole house smells amazing. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Easter Bread

See how to make traditional braided Easter bread with a simple glaze.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States