Braciola II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
We didn't really care for this; it was too acidic and had too much seasoning. Having the extra sauce wasn't a big deal for us, you can simply freeze it and use it for another recipe. I did this in my slow cooker and used stewing beef instead, cooking for a little over 4 hours. It was eaten, though we have had better sauce before, and likely we won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
Loved this! Made a few modifications: LESS garlic - just enough to put some on each piece of meat. ADDED: Bacon Strips to meat prior to rolling up. (Saw this in some other similar recipes.) REPLACED Anise Seed with 1 tsp Cinnamon, 1 tsp Nutmeg, 1 tsp Cloves (found substitution online.) My entire family liked this and they can be picky eaters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
Good!~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
What a wonderful sauce! We used top round instead, and added bread crumbs and parm/romano to the meat roll, but other than that, followed exactly. This just turned out perfectly, and we were going crazy with the good smells throughout the house. This is a great one to impress your friends and family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
Excellent! Love the Flavor! Red wine great ingredient! I did add small amount of a variety of cheese. Thanks for the post. Spelling should be Braciole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHELLE CASSELBERRY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dexter, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
My family loved this dish! The extra sauce came in handy as a pasta sauce. I didn't have the fresh parsley so I added 2 tablespoon of dry and I only added 1 tablespoon sugar. I thought 2 would make it too sweet. I will definitely make this dish again. Next time I will be prepared and buy the fresh parsely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dunlap, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
My boyfriend and I really enjoyed this. It was a definate improvement on the spaghetti and meatball tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2004
This was fantastic on day 2. But I think the garlic must have been a typo? Try 2-4 cloves, not HEADS of garlic...way toooooooo strong! The sauce was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2003
This recipe has much potential, and with some tweaking I believe it could reach perfection. I used "tomato, basil, and garlic" pasta sauce instead of tomatoe sauce, and Italian style tomatoe paste instead of plain. I don't normally like wine in dishes, but it turned out very well (we used a sweet red table wine). My roommate and I were the ones who made this, and since there were just two of us there was WAY WAY too much sauce with the meat... I'd reccommend cutting the all the tomatoe ingredients in half, and you should still have enough for leftovers. Also, we didn't cut the meat into 6 specific cuts, we just cut the meat into as many oblong pieces as we could, cut their thickness in half, and then rolled them(you want to be sure they are not too thick!) Also, I am notorious for using garlic in everything I cook... but I felt that it just really didn't blend well with the meat very much. I think garlic salt would have a much better effect. We served it with linguine noodles and it turned out great :) I will try this again with my suggestions sometime...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2002
Good, but too much sauce. I didn't know to pound the meat thin. : (
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Beef Braciole

An Italian rolled steak stuffed with bread crumbs, dried fruit, cheese, & herbs.

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States