Braciola I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Great recipe! I have been eating this since I was a child at Grandma's Sunday dinner. I was not smart enough to ask her to write the recipe down like I should of. But with my mom's help, we changed a few things based on our traditions. This is based on 1 1/2 lbs of steak. Instead of the raisins, we lightly dry toasted pine nuts and added that to mixture. Instead of the two cheeses listed here, we used 2/3C grated pecorino romano and 1/2 cup chopped provolone. Also, 1/2 C italian bread crumbs is good binder. 1/2 C chopped basil, 1/2 C parsley to mixture. Added 2 Tbsp butter to our sauce, instead of into each roll. Instead of cutting the meat, just pound it out and add the mixture to make very large rolls. This cuts out much of the oozing that people were referring to. After meat has browned, add 1 cup of red wine to dutch oven until boiling, to soak up browned bits, and then add your sauce. Because the pieces are larger, we cooked them for 3 hours mostly covered with the sauce. Yummy! Sorry, I know I changed the recipe, but so many people were asking about suggestions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
Very tasty and tender, I omitted the raisins not a fan of them and I sprinkled some bread crumbs before rolling them up. Also, I used my own sauce and not a jarred one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen McCleane Mullin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Wonderful taste. Cheese melted into sauce though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Soo Good. I also omitted the raisins because I didn't have any on hand and it was still delicious. My family makes the tradition braciola with flank steak and a bread like stuffing but I prefer this one with the round steak and cheese. Very good, thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Liked the taste, but will add additional cheese and some type of spice next time ... just needed a little 'something'. Thanks for an easy recipe (I'll have to work on my rolling up skills) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scrapper9494

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Edgewater, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Delicious. Tender. I made them smaller portions and used fresh mozzarella - which melted a little but still worked nicely. I will add red pepper next time for more zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Bank, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
not worth the time...family thought it was just ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Lindsey Gibson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allen, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
I loved this recipe! I watched Everybody Loves Raymond and my mouth watered whenever I watched the episode where Debra makes amazing braciola. I decided to try it! I am not a raisin fan but didn't omit the idea- I did replace the raisins with currants and absolutely loved the flavor it brought. I also added italian style breadcrumbs and it was perfect. A favorite in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Way to much garlic! The meat also dried out too much. It was tender but not what I expected
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wellesley, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Loris, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
dip the cheese in olive oil and roll it in flour , will help it keep its place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Souper Skillet Pasta

See how to make this quick and easy dinner.

Lasagna-Stuffed Mushrooms

Mushrooms stand in deliciously for noodles in this cheesy, 5-star lasagna.

Linda's Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy 5-star lasagna with ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States