Boyfriend Bait Beef Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
My husband and I loved it. I read the reviews and seasoned steak with salt, pepper,garlic and onion powder before cooking it. I also chose a beef broth that had onion and garlic infused. The only problem was it didn't thicken. I added an additional tablespoon but still not thick enough. I wonder if it should be 3 T instead of 3t. I will definitely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanne Flinn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
I made this recipe for my boyfriend who's a vegetarian, so I made this using Trader's Joe's Meatless Meatballs (which I baked in the oven for 10 minutes and then added them to the sauce once it was done). I followed the recipe pretty closely - although I added an extra cup of sour cream (because I like the sauce really creamy) and I added a couple of shakes of Worchestershire sauce, a pinch of seasoned black pepper, and a pinch of dried basil. I used a pound of baby portobello mushrooms, probably a cup of diced shallots, and a no-beef beef bouillion cube melted in 2 cups of water. I served it over wide egg noodles with steamed green beans. My boyfriend said it was the best meal he's had in a long time. So, yes, I'd have to agree this meal could definitely be "boyfriend bait." :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tavisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
We thought this recipe was pretty good. I made this on a Sunday night, but it is quick enough that it would make a good weeknight meal too. We didn't think that it had a ton of flavor, and it seemed to be missing something, but I'm not sure what. My four year old ate most of his serving, kind of reluctantly, but I do think he liked it. And my 1 year old scarfed this down as if he hadn't eaten in a week! This might be his favorite thing that he has tried so far. Thank you for sharing this recipe with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
I looked this recipe up after reading your book! Enjoyed it a lot. I think it begs for a sequel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Beef stroganoff is one of my husband's favorite dishes and this is very good (maybe I could've used this as "bait" to snag him a bit earlier had I known). I partially froze sirloin vs. tenderloin (cheaper) to cut it thin and then let that marinate in red wine, garlic, and Worchesterchire for two hours before cooking. I cooked that then plated it. I used a vidalia onion (about 3/4 cup), portabella mushrooms and sauteed them in little garlic. I also added 1 Tbsp. of Worchestershire for a flavor boost. I reserved a bit of the broth to mix with 2 Tbsp. of cornstarch vs. 3 tsp. to thicken then added the sour cream with 3 oz. cream cheese. I served it over egg noodles - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
It was great! I made it without the mushrooms. The flavor was great, but it was missing something....cant put my finger on it but it was missing something
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
WOW. Fabulous! I used a high quality steak for the beef and followed the recipe exactly except for taking care to salt and pepper my steak while tenderizing it (before cutting it into bite sized pieces) and then through out the cooking process I added S&P as I saw fit. Hubby told me he's so glad he married a woman who knows how to cook. I served it over wide egg noodles. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
This was absolutely fantastic! My BOYFRIEND certainly died and went to heaven for this one! The only changes I made were adding about 1/4 cup of cream cheese and instead of Dijon mustard I used dry powdered mustard. Scrumptious! I will be making this again as soon as possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
Oh my! My son laughed at the name, then after he had it, he said, "You are right- this IS boyfriend bait!". He is 11 by the way. This recipe is great, I think it is the mustard/sour cream mix that makes it so good. I actually started making it and realized I had no mushrooms, so I omitted them, and had no cornstarch, but 3tablespoons flour worked fine. Great recipe that will be made repeatedly at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jcook45

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Excellent comfort food. Instead of shallots, I use one chopped onion and a couple cloves of garlic. I also add quite a bit of fresh ground black pepper. I like it best over mashed potatoes but my boys like it over buttered egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Beef Stroganoff III

See how to make a 5-star beef stroganoff recipe.

Easy Beef Stroganoff

This rich, creamy stroganoff makes a tasty weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States