Bowties with Italian Sausage in a Cream Basil Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Staci
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
De-lish! I used Half & Half for the cream and a can of diced tomatoes, drained. Also, I didn't have quite enough fresh basil, so I also added a little dried - believe me when I say I'm no fresh vs. dried herb snob, but the Fresh Basil really made the difference. I will definitely make this again. I really love the "light" consistency of the sauce with the tomato & basil. Thanks, Johnsonville Kitchens!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Photo by Joey Joan
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I didn't have bow ties so I used rigatoni thinking the sauce would fill the tubes of the pasta making each bite an explosion of flavor. I was so so so right. Dinner was 5 star and lunch for every one was a 5 star heaven. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
I loved everything about this dish. It was fast and easy to prepare, but most importantly, it was delicious. I improvised a little adding extra pasta, using a can of diced tomatoes and dried basil for the sauce, and it was excellent, boosted by the quality of the sausage. This is a perfect week night meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Cynthia Ross
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Beautiful dish with great flavors. The basil cream sauce is really nice. Couldn't find "light cream," so I used regular cream for whipping. (Heavy cream.) I would make this one again. Very, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Ross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beverly Hills, California, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I read a bunch of the reviews and took on a couple of suggestions when I made this yesterday. I put in canned diced tomatoes and a half of a can of sweet peppers and only used 6 oz of already de-cased sausage (thanks reviewers!). Instead of cream, I used sour cream (my idea :) - all my guests had 3 servings and LOVED it! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jaana Smith Bauman
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
6 out of 5 stars! This was delicious. Followed the recipe as is. Fresh basil is a must. Wouldn't change anything. Very rich and yummy. Whole family approved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaana Smith Bauman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
This is a recipe I have used for years, except we use heavy cream, it is richer. It is a family favorite and I highly recommend it. We also add 2 tablespoons chopped fresh flat leaf parsley and instead of fresh tomatoes, we use 1 11oz. can of petite diced tomatoes. Anyway you do it, you will love it. (We also use 1/2 cup of parmesan instead of what the above recipe states)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Photo by Cathy Myers
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
We highly recommend this flavorful, attractive and possibly kid-friendly dish for a quick week night dinner, a nonlaborous dish to serve guests and it is quite budget friendly, a real positive in these tiemes! The excellent quality of the Johnsonville sausage made all the difference in this dish. For personal preference only, next time I will decrease the pasta to 2 cups and leave all other ingredients the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Myers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestline, California, USA
Photo by Cook and a half
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
The family loved this recipe. I left out the tomato and did not use bow ties. over all very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cook and a half

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
This was really good! Will make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smross5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Underwood, Iowa, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Johnsonville® Three Cheese Pasta Primavera

Looking for a flavorful sausage recipe without all the fat? This is it!

Bow Ties with Sausage, Tomatoes and Cream

The perfect, satisfying pasta dish for busy weeknights.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States