Bowties with Italian Sausage in a Cream Basil Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I have made this recipe many times and think it's fantastic. I use cherry tomatoes and add fresh veggies (zucchini, mushrooms, asparagus…anything that adds nice colors.). Since I am adding more volume to the dish I double the cream and parmesan cheese. Every time I make this dish everyone is very impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
delicious! the roomies loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Courtney Woods
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
This was excellent! It tasted even better the next day, of course. I used heavy cream, since that's all I had on hand and extra cheese (because we looooove cheese). This was oh so good! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney Woods

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fayetteville, Texas, USA
Living In: Columbus, Texas, USA
Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Although I made some alterations I did not change the core of the recipe and this was a family approved recipe. I used ground hot sausage instead of sweet out of family preference. I used heavy cream because that is what I could find. Penne instead of bow ties because I did not realize I was out. I used canned tomatoes instead of fresh but when reading the directions it sounds like either fresh or canned could be used. Lastly dried basil instead of fresh because I could not find any locally. Fresh basil would have been better but it was still a tasty sauce with the dried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Staci
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
De-lish! I used Half & Half for the cream and a can of diced tomatoes, drained. Also, I didn't have quite enough fresh basil, so I also added a little dried - believe me when I say I'm no fresh vs. dried herb snob, but the Fresh Basil really made the difference. I will definitely make this again. I really love the "light" consistency of the sauce with the tomato & basil. Thanks, Johnsonville Kitchens!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Photo by Joey Joan
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I didn't have bow ties so I used rigatoni thinking the sauce would fill the tubes of the pasta making each bite an explosion of flavor. I was so so so right. Dinner was 5 star and lunch for every one was a 5 star heaven. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
I loved everything about this dish. It was fast and easy to prepare, but most importantly, it was delicious. I improvised a little adding extra pasta, using a can of diced tomatoes and dried basil for the sauce, and it was excellent, boosted by the quality of the sausage. This is a perfect week night meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Cynthia Ross
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Beautiful dish with great flavors. The basil cream sauce is really nice. Couldn't find "light cream," so I used regular cream for whipping. (Heavy cream.) I would make this one again. Very, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Ross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beverly Hills, California, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I read a bunch of the reviews and took on a couple of suggestions when I made this yesterday. I put in canned diced tomatoes and a half of a can of sweet peppers and only used 6 oz of already de-cased sausage (thanks reviewers!). Instead of cream, I used sour cream (my idea :) - all my guests had 3 servings and LOVED it! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jaana Smith Bauman
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
6 out of 5 stars! This was delicious. Followed the recipe as is. Fresh basil is a must. Wouldn't change anything. Very rich and yummy. Whole family approved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaana Smith Bauman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Camano Island, Washington, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Johnsonville® Three Cheese Pasta Primavera

Looking for a flavorful sausage recipe without all the fat? This is it!

Bow Ties with Sausage, Tomatoes and Cream

The perfect, satisfying pasta dish for busy weeknights.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States