Bowties with Italian Sausage in a Cream Basil Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
This was wonderful. Followed the recipe to a T and it turned out fabulous!! My teenage son ate three helpings at dinner, then had it for lunch the next day cold. I suggest you try it as written and not make alterations.. it is soo good!! Thanks, Johnsonville!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsWolfie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgefield, Washington, USA
Photo by Lin-DUH
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I really liked this! I think it is imperative to use fresh ingredients (tomatoes, basil, etc.) to really get the full effect...the fresh basil definitely made a big difference! I thought this was marvelous and made it exactly as written other than adding chopped fresh mushrooms into the mix. Thanks, Johnsonville. You made me feel like a gourmet Italian chef today. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lin-DUH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Lisa Schuster Altmiller
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
My family really enjoyed this dish. The only complaint I had was from the kids who thought it was too hot, and I have to agree (but I don't care for spicy things in general). Next time, I will cut back on the red pepper flakes or omit them altogether. As for ease, you can't get much simpler than this. My 8 year old daughter helped me with almost every step of the recipe. I paired the dish with some garlic bread sticks. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Schuster Altmiller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Dixon, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
Very tasty!! Followed the recipe except grilled the sausage on the BBQ along with zuchinni and red and green bell peppers. Then chopped sausage and veggies and added to the sauce with pasta. Worked out perfectly since I boiled the pasta and made the sauce while my husband grilled. We used hot italian sausage, but will try a different sausage next time, just for variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by floridascrubtech
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Just Made This Tonight For Dinner. It Is Awesome. I Did Not Like The Look Of The Fresh Basil At The SuperMarket, so I Had To Use Dry. Still Came Out Very Good. But I Will Be Using Fresh Basil If At All Possible. It Was Quick To Put Together, And Very Little Mess. A WonderFul Recipe. Thank You From Florida!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by floridascrubtech

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
This recipe was good; it was cheaper to use jarred Alfredo sauce than it was to buy cream. It tasted good but its not so good you would get asked for the recipe. It is not memorable in any way and I doubt it would have been if I used the light cream instead. The kids did eat it though; so that is worth a few stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
Awesome!!!! I made it exactly as stated on the recipe the first time, and it was great! The second time, I replace the fresh tomatoes with two 14 oz cans of diced tomatoes, and the heavy cream with half and half, and it was still awesome! I didn't want to go to the store, and these substitutions definitely worked!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dana Point, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Niguel, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
My husband and I both loved this. I did have to cook the sauce a little longer to thicken it up but it was well worth the extra few min!!! We have also tried it with some added mushrooms.... YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
My brother said this was the greatest thing he'd ever tasted. Got rave reviews from the hubs and friend as well. Not sure I feel it deserves 'greatest dish ever' award, but it was really tasty and easy to make. Made it just like the recipe said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
Wonderful! Quick and easy. My husband likes to make a great sauce and simmer all day. I told him about this receipt and requested it for dinner. He wanted to cook and was surprised at how quick and easy it was, I did have to convince him not to reduce the sauce too much! He did add some white wine and bumped up the red pepper and added pecorino romano (our favorite) when served, excellent meal. We will be having this again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Johnsonville® Three Cheese Pasta Primavera

Looking for a flavorful sausage recipe without all the fat? This is it!

Bow Ties with Sausage, Tomatoes and Cream

The perfect, satisfying pasta dish for busy weeknights.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States