Bowties and Broccoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
My family has been making this for years. It's a fresh and simple side dish or lunch item. Those looking for a complex meal this is not it at all and is obvious by the ingredient list. It's not helpful to say this is bland or no flavor when clearly it's not meant to be something more than it is. If you like more flavor then add them. I've add red pepper flakes, black pepper, or a sprinkle of Italian dressing times for something different but mostly I love it as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
Maybe more cheese next time? Definitely more of something...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
Nothing fancy or particularly special, just good - but then just about anything mixed up with pasta is a winner in my book. I cooked up some bacon along with the garlic and added it along with some of the drippings. Nice accompaniment to our roasted stuffed chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
See, this recipe has been in my family for YEARS and the major differences lie in 2 added ingredients: a dash of paprika and a dash of crushed red pepper flakes with the oil and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I think a little lemon zest and juice helps lift this up. I like using the pasta water in sauce. Easy to whip up with whats on hand. and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
This was really delicious. Put salt, pepper and lemon pepper on the broccoli. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
This recipe is excellent, and I've been cooking it for several years now, but I usually modify it to add a little more flavor and some lean protein. For starters, I always use whole wheat or multigrain pasta. Then, I'll typically follow the recipe directions listed. To add protein, I'll cook 2-3 chicken breasts on the stovetop seasoning them with Mrs. Dash's tomato and basil garlic seasoning along with dried parsley and a little onion powder. Once the chicken has been cooked through, I slice or dice it (depending on my mood) and toss it into the broccoli & bowtie mixture. Then, I add 1/4 to 1/2 cup of tomato & basil flavored feta cheese crumbles and toss the pasta once again to blend the ingredients well. As someone who is not a pasta lover, I find this dish to be delicious, healthy, and satisfying. It makes a ton of food, so it's good to make early in the week and eat all week long or for a dinner party where you'll need to feed a crowd. I've always received tons of compliments on this dish when making it with the modifications mentioned above. I hope this helps!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina Cox

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Easy to make and had everything on hand. I added some garlic and onion spice and mixed everything in the pan on the stove for a few minutes before serving. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2012
Doesn't require NEARLY enough cheese, but still tasty. We just added a lot more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Menlo Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
I made this last week, wanting pasta in a hurry. It was so yummy I wish I'd made twice as much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Gabriel, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Cavatelli and Broccoli

See how to make healthy, quick-and-easy broccoli and pasta.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States