Bowler Beef Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
What a nice, easy marinade! We all really enjoyed this...I cut down slightly on the liquids in the recipe, because I only had 2 steaks to cook, but kept the seasonings pretty much the same. The meat was very tender and we all enjoyed the flavor. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Marinated eye of round steaks for about 7 hours...hated the taste and it didn't soften those up at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
DO NOT MARINATE FOR 6 HOURS!!!! I only let it marinade for 1 hour and it was perfect. If I had done it for 6+ hours it would have been way to much. One hour you can still taste the meat with PERFECT flavor. I didn't have fresh ginger so I used ground ginger and white vinegar in place of rice. It was the best marinade I ever had!!! I used london broil and grilled 7 minutes each side for perfect medium done! My family can't wait to have it again. Oh yea I forgot... before grilling I used powdered meat tenderizer before putting on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Marathon, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Great marinade, use it everytime I make a roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chantille

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
This had good flavor and came together easily with the help of my mini chop (easy minced ginger). I followed other reviewers suggestions and cut back on the soy, but think that I might have cut it back too much. I only used about 1/3 cup, so that it was about the same as the rest of the liquids, but I think that next time I try this recipe I will only cut the soy back to 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela W

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Excellent marinade. The only change I made was using lite soy sauce to cut down on the amount of sodium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WALLYUM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Tasty marinade!! Easy to find ingredients, moments to put together, YUM!! Mixed it all up, poured it in a ziploc bag, and placed london broil cut in the the marinade before leaving for work. 10+ hrs. later, I broiled it in the oven for about 15 min. each side, and served with baked potato and a salad. Great flavor, super tender meat!! Might marinate over night next time... Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I chose this recipe for two reasons: it uses simple, on-hand ingredients, and I had some less-then-great sirloin I needed to turn into GREAT sirloin. I halved the recipe and cut the beef into chunks for marinating. After marinating for 24 hours, I skewered and grilled the beef. The result was tender and flavorful, but NOT overpowering. I will definitely use this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Not my favorite, sorry. Much too sweet for us, the soy sauce is overwhelming. All I tasted was the soy, OJ, brown sugar. It definitely has an "asian" taste with these seasonings/additions. However, I'd already added them to my meat (tri-tip) in the ziploc bag before I realized how sweet this was going to end up. I prefer something much heartier - red wine, onion, worchester, etc. I made these with my own bacon wrapped potato wedges and grilled corn on the cob, so the flavoring really seemed out of place. Thanks for the new idea though. It was different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EKERR19

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
Great marinade! I used low sodium soy sauce and ginger powder. I let sirloin steak set in this in a ziploc bag for a day and a half. The result was absolutly delicious. We grilled it over charcoal and the orange juice and brown sugar gave it just a slight hint of sweetness - not too much. The smell on the grill was great and it tasted even better. I can't wait to try this for kabobs. It really does make a tough cheaper cut of meat very tender. I would take the submitter's advice and marinate it for at least 6 hours or more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Flank Steak Marinade

What's cooking in Detroit? A flank steak marinade to wow them at the grill.

How to Make Beef Satay

An incredibly delicious marinade makes amazing grilled beef satay.

Beerbecue Beef Flank Steak

See how to make a beer-based barbeque sauce for juicy grilled flank steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States