Bowler Beef Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2003
This is a great recipe! Meat was tender, juicy and very, very tasty. I made more steaks than I needed, and had two left... I decided to cut them in strips, brown them in a wok and then I added fresh mushrooms (slised), green and red peppers and sliced onions. Poured approximately 2 tablespoons of marinade over it... cooked some rice, and had a great meal! Next time I use this recipe, I'll deliberately put more steaks in. Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2003
I marinated steaks overnight in this recipe and they came out pretty good. The thinner ends of beef absorbed a lot of the soy sauce and were slightly salty (even using reduced sodium soy sauce)but still tasty. I wouldn't marinate this longer than 1 night due to the large amount of soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
Great marinade! I used low sodium soy sauce and ginger powder. I let sirloin steak set in this in a ziploc bag for a day and a half. The result was absolutly delicious. We grilled it over charcoal and the orange juice and brown sugar gave it just a slight hint of sweetness - not too much. The smell on the grill was great and it tasted even better. I can't wait to try this for kabobs. It really does make a tough cheaper cut of meat very tender. I would take the submitter's advice and marinate it for at least 6 hours or more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Tasty marinade!! Easy to find ingredients, moments to put together, YUM!! Mixed it all up, poured it in a ziploc bag, and placed london broil cut in the the marinade before leaving for work. 10+ hrs. later, I broiled it in the oven for about 15 min. each side, and served with baked potato and a salad. Great flavor, super tender meat!! Might marinate over night next time... Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2004
This was a good marinade. I used to make beef kabobs. I replaced the orange juice with lemon juice, and the fresh ginger with dried ginger. My kids and their guests devoured it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFJULIE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2003
This was pretty good... the meat came out very moist and zippy. Thanks for sharing. Will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENSMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2003
Very tasty! I didn't have the fresh ginger so I used powdered and it came out just great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
This is a yummy recipe, after cutting the soy sauce in half. London broil soaked for 2 days and was awesome. Thanks for sharing this quick and easy marinade. Everyone ate it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
A tasty marinade. It was just a tad too salty. I used red wine vinegar instead of rice wine vinegar. I think next time I'll add more red wine vinegar and less soy sauce. I marinated for a day and a half for a tougher cut of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NKTAUBE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I chose this recipe for two reasons: it uses simple, on-hand ingredients, and I had some less-then-great sirloin I needed to turn into GREAT sirloin. I halved the recipe and cut the beef into chunks for marinating. After marinating for 24 hours, I skewered and grilled the beef. The result was tender and flavorful, but NOT overpowering. I will definitely use this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Flank Steak Marinade

What's cooking in Detroit? A flank steak marinade to wow them at the grill.

How to Make Beef Satay

An incredibly delicious marinade makes amazing grilled beef satay.

Beerbecue Beef Flank Steak

See how to make a beer-based barbeque sauce for juicy grilled flank steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States