Bow Ties with Sausage, Tomatoes and Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by amyb32
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
My husband hates tomato sauce, so I'm always looking for pasta recipes. This one hit the nail on the head after some tweaking. My nursing daughter has a milk allergy so I used coconut milk in place of heavy cream. My husband can stand fire roasted tomatoes but only in small amounts, so I only added a half can. I used hot Italian sausage instead of sweet,though I omitted the red pepper flakes and wished I hadn't since it wasn't quite spicy enough for us. I also added whole roasted garlic just because I love it. Oh, and tri colored farfelle for color. My husband actually went back for seconds even w the tomatoes and it was just as delicious the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
Easy & tasty! I tried to make a healthier version by using turkey sausage, whole wheat pasta & light cream. It was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
Very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BeachLady
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
This is an awesome dish! I will DEFINITELY make this one again! I changed it a bit as follows: 1 lb ground Italian Sausage (not in casing) - made it easier Drained sausage after cooking (as others suggested) 1 28oz of Bella Terra Organic Italian Whole Peeled Tomatoes (including juice) 1 japlaneo chopped with seeds removed Oregano and basil to taste Increased pepper flakes to 1Tsp (we like it spicy) Increased the garlic to 6 cloves minced Parsley flakes (not fresh and it was fine) 2 cup broccoli (trimmed stems) - put in about 2mins before serving so broccoli would be crunchy Sprinkled with a little parmesan cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
This is one of my families favorites. We make it as directed, except sometimes substituting canned tomatoes and adding italian seasonings instead of buying italian style tomatoes. Also just a pinch of red pepper flakes instead of 1/2 teaspoon, because that makes it too spicy for me. I don't know why the one reviewer said it had no flavor, obviously he didn't use the right tomatoes or add italian seasoning with regular tomatoes. Also helps to make sure your red pepper flakes are fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Legault

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
very yummy and easy. Did not add the red pepper flakes or olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Jackson, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
This is my "go to" recipe when I need something quick and easy, or if I can't think of anything to make for dinner. My whole family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: New Caney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
This is wonderful! Only thing I changed was adding fresh mushrooms. Family loves it! A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
This recipe is easy and great tasting. The only thing I did different is I fryed up some spinich with garlic power, onions, and butter. Then with the sauce I noticed when made by the recipe it comes out more like a butter sauce and runs to the bottom of the noddles. Thats why I made the sauce separate in a frying pan a little different. I added 2 cups butter, more if needed. Then I added 1 1/2 cup of flour, till the bytter is some what paste. Then added 2 cups heavy cream and mixed all together. Put on low heat for a minute while stiring till its a creamy sauce. Salt to taste and added the cooked spinich and sauce to noddles. Much creamier that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meggie Golden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
A family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina Dixon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,958) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bow Ties with Sausage, Tomatoes and Cream

The perfect, satisfying pasta dish for busy weeknights.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Sausage Pasta

A simple and quick weeknight pasta with sausage, tomatoes, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States