Bow Tie Tuna Florentine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2003
What a classy and utterly delicious dish! I now know how to properly wilt spinach! I love the texture of the cool chopped tomatoes over this hot savory dish. This recipe is easy and will be the star attraction at future dinner parties. Good going, Tracy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRADYSMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lowell, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lakeview, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2003
We really liked this. Don't like the pesto sauce mix so I used garlic & herb sauce. 2 can's of tuna is plenty. Bow ties were very nice. I near doubled the mushrooms and added way more than 2 cups of spinach. Next time I will add a huge, huge pile of spinach. Also, topped with asiago. Very quick dinner. Looking forward to making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dubuque, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
This is a keeper for our family. I don't eat meat and I can easily leave the tuna out of this or take my share before adding the tuna last. The only change I made was to replace the milk with 1/4 cup of olive oil and a 1/2 cup of water for a healthier alternative, which is on the back of the pesto mix packet. This was delicious and I will be making it again soon, I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
Really good for a canned tuna recipe! I'm impressed. I did have to make some changes, mostly because I couldn't find the creamy pesto sauce mix. I did find a non-creamy pesto sauce mix (Simply Organic Sweet Basil Pesto - 0.53 oz) and used that instead. The directions on the packet said to use 1/4 cup olive oil and 1/2 cup water, so I used that instead of the margarine and milk. To make it more rich in nutrients, I used a whole 8 oz. carton of mushrooms and doubled the spinach. We topped it off with parmesan cheese and it was a delightful meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
I didn't have pesto sauce mix or mushrooms, so I used 1/2 cup of dried basil and half a can of condensed cream of mushroom soup (although it probably would have been fine with the whole can). I tried it with only two cans of tuna like a few reviews said, and because I wanted to make sure it was a good recipe before I used all of my tuna in it (haha), but I'll definitely use three next time. I sprinkled a little garlic salt and parmesan cheese on top at the end. It was delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
Very nice, enjoyed it but I should have used all albacore tuna. Found it needed a little more seasoning. Since I don't eat them, I left out the mushrooms but I did toast a few pine nuts (1/4 cup) and tossed them in near the end. It added a great nutty flavor and were a nice compliment to the pesto. I also sprinkled a little grated parm on top when I served it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
Good, filling meal. I messed up a little bit and used pesto sauce instead of pesto sauce MIX, but I added a tbsp of flour to thicken my watery mess up a little bit and it worked great. I also recommend adding some seasoning at the end to spice it up a little bit. The tomatoes really work well in the dish, setting themselves apart from the rest of the dish as a refresing bite without being distracting. Would like to try again with the mushrooms (my girlfriend doesn't like them!), I'm sure it's great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2003
I don't know if I would consider it an "elegant" dish, but it looks good & tastes pretty good too. Next time I'll try it with chicken- the tuna tasted funny in it. I used just a regular pesto (as opposed to creamy pesto) sauce mix, so it was soupy too, which was not good. My husband did not like this dish, but I thought it was okay. May make again when I'm in a hurry- I usually have those ingredients on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2002
Delicious! Great change from traditional tuna noddle casserole. I couldn't find creamy pesto seasoning so followed a previous review and made white sauce and added pesto seasoning (spice section of grocery store). White sauce recipe was 4 Tbsp. butter, 4 Tbsp. flour and 3 cups milk. Also added about 2 tsp. salt 1/4 tsp. pepper, and 2 tsp. of pesto seasoning. My husband loved it and my two little ones (daughter 2 1/2 & son 15 mos.) ate it also! Will definite make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
I cooked the tomatoes and mushrooms with the pasta for 5 minutes. And I "cooked" the spinach by draining the pasta over it (works perfectly every time.) I think it needs some cheese. Tastes good cold too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Bow Tie Pasta

See how to make chicken with vegetables in a creamy cheese sauce.

Tasty Tuna Burgers

See how to make truly tasty tuna burgers.

Grilled Tuna with Fresh Horseradish

See how to make grilled tuna that just explodes with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States