Bow-Tie Pasta With Red Pepper Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Donald
Reviewed: May 24, 2013
I liked the sound of this recipe so I gave it a try with what I had at home. I wanted to make this as healthy as possible so I used whole wheat penne instead of bow tie pasta. I didn't have fresh herbs so I used dried. I think I should have used less than what the recipe calls for for the fresh herbs. The dish came out a little too spicy. Aside from that I will try some variations in the future like the other reviewers mentioned. Definitely worth trying and is easy to make if your short on time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donald

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Living In: Mahopac, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
Everyone seems to either love or hate this sauce. My whole family loved it! The flavors of the honey and balsamic complement the natural sweetness and tang of the red peppers perfectly. Based on the reviews stating it was lacking some depth, I added 2 cloves garlic, 1 shredded carrot, and one diced celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
This is a great recipe! We have made it as a main dish with chicken. I would double the recipe if you want to use it as a main dish. I also added red pepper flakes. I skipped the fresh parsley. I love parsley but I don't like it with this sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
really just bad. No flavor at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
This is so very good... loved the sweetness of the honey..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Big Bear City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Not really our thing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
Not too hard to make, good taste. Didn't make as much as I thought it would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Not at all what I was expecting. The combination of vinegar and honey made this dish a sweet and sour sauce. I didn't think that blended well with the red peppers at all. I wouldn't even try to tweek this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Loved this recipe...it's a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
This was TASTEEEE! It was a nice twist the regular tomato sauce. Next time, after I puree the sauce which I'll probably make more of, too - I plan to put it back in the pot and add Italian Sausage to spice it up even more! Husband and 2 year old ate it all up! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States