Bow-Tie Pasta With Red Pepper Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
This was a great alternative to traditional pasta sauce. I was short on ingredients and omitted the balsamic vinegar, but it still turned out great. I doubled the chicken broth because it cooked down to nothing pretty quickly. I also added some red pepper flakes for kick and a pinch of garlic. Basically, with a pepper / broth base you can add anything you want and this will turn out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
very good. could have used some more sauce but that's just personal preference. though i believe the calories count for this is off... by 100-150 calories but whatever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
Very good. Next time would add some red pepper flakes and fresh garlic to give this dish a little more flavor and zip. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Belmont, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
Great sauce! My only complaint is that I too think the serving sizes are a little small. I made a few substitutions to the dish that I would highly recommend. First, I added 2 (sliced) cloves of garlic, 2 serrano peppers, and a pinch of red pepper flakes (maybe only try this if you like it spicy..) to the red pepper mixture. I didn't have the peas to add so while I simmered the peppers I roasted some carrots in the oven. I combined the carrots and peppers once I pureed everything. Gave it a sweeter and fuller flavor. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
This was actually a very good and easy recipe. The red pepper sauce has a nice little zing to it and my family really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CupcakeQtie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
very good. made a few changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bakeratheart
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
This was really good. I added red pepper flakes to give it some spice. Also, I substituted the peas with brocoli. I will be making this again. It is a good change instead of using tomato pasta sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Used a can of white beans instead of the green peas, and a handful of fresh spinach instead of parsley. I thought I was going to need to add cornstarch to thicken the sauce, but after it had simmered for a few minutes with the cooked pasta and the other ingredients, it thickened up on its own nicely. A very healthy but filling main dish and a nice flavor change from pasta sauce made from a tomato base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
This is the first recipe here that I really didn't care for. I guess maybe I was expecting it to taste like tomato sauce, and I just found it bland and uninteresting (and a bit watery). Maybe I missed something in the preparation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
i followed the recipe to the letter. it was basically just red bell pepper flavor. my whole family helped me search through the pantry for either something to add to this to make it better or something else to eat entirely. you would have to be a straight vegetarian to enjoy this, not just someone looking for something a little different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States