Bourtheto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I cut the ingredients in half and used Tilapia instead of Cod. I also added a bit of garlic. I served it over Orzo pasta with a salad on the side. It came out quite wonderful and everyone enjoyed it! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Woodside, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KM
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
My husband and I love this recipe! I have made it a few times now...tried with cod first - but then tried tilapia (which was our favorite). We eat it like a soup - adding avacado, cilantro and lime juice before eating! It is wonderful with the french bread - and we also make mexican rice with it. Sooooo good! ***I only use 1/2 the amount of potatoes (cut them up and cook them a little in the microwave first) - and just chop my tomatoes and onions instead of grating. Much easier and no difference in the taste!! : ) Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Use red or white boiling potatoes and they will be done (not baking potatoes). I used the food processor for the onions and tomatoes instead of grating them and that worked fine. Instead of cayenne, I used Johnny's Grub Rub sprinked on the fillets (it has cayenne in it), and put garlic salt and black pepper on the potatoes. I'll try adding a bay leaf and some herbs next time. I liked the one-pot (skillet) method and it was very good. Oh, I did research - after done, drizzle with the rest of the olive oil and sprinkle some chopped fresh parsley on top, and serve with sourdough bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARFLOWER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
Brilliant recipe,soooooo tasty!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
I love this recipe! I found it on allrecipes last winter and then lost it. Because of the funky name, it was just about impossible to find again, and I was so excited to come across it recently. This is a great winter dinner - I use just one big skillet which makes cleanup so simple. The simmering always takes longer than I remember, but it fills the house with a great smell and everyone is so eager to eat when ready. A few variations: I don't grate the tomatoes, just chop since they cook down so much anyway. I definitely do remove the lid and let simmer down, and I love the potatoes after mashed. Remember that the larger chunks your potatoes are in, the longer the cooking process will be. I've also added black and red beans to the tomato/onion mixture. I've used both fresh and frozen fish fillets (pollock, cod, want to try catfish) and they work equally well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
I loved this! I used a white fish called turbot, recommended at the seafood counter, and substituted 1/2 white cooking wine for 1/2 of the water. Next time I will make the potato wedges thinner because they definitely didn't cook enough in 20 minutes and I worried about overcooking the fish while waiting for the potatoes to be ready. I am hoping to get some questions answered. First, in the description of the recipe, there is mention of lots of parsley, but parsley is not in the list of ingredients, nor is there any mention of adding it in the instructions. Second, and less importantly, the recipe says to cook the onion and tomato in half of the olive oil, but I don't see where the rest of the olive oil is used. Any answers or thoughts are appreciated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
This was easy, great and very filling. I used pollock instead of cod and added a little garlic. I served it with croissants and grated romano cheese. Whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evillhog

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fortuna, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bbcmelbourne
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
I agree with some of the other comments...thinner wedges so it cooks a bit quicker and also to take the lid off to reduce some of the juice. I used New Zealand lemon sole and added more garlic, it turned out really tasty and I have submitted a photo of the dish as there was none posted when I cooked it. There is a querie from someone else who posted a review regarding what to do with the parsely....I just ripped it up and put it on top of dish when serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bbcmelbourne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Absolutely gorgeous. The potatoes absorbed the spice of the cayenne pepper perfectly, really had that lovely little kick to them. I swapped out the cod for haddock, I admit, but was a little disappointed because it didn't absorb the flavour anywhere near as much as the potatoes did. Nonetheless, I thoroughly enjoyed this meal, and I can't wait to eat it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Torquay, Devon, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
My husband, who likes his food HOT enjoyed this. I did add a fresh cayenne pepper and 1/2 of a ghost pepper for his tastes. After reading reviews about potatoes taking longer to cook, I used the smaller white potatoes and used frozen tilapia and cod. Fresh is always better, but the frozen was what I had and it worked well with the longer cooking time allowing it to defrost while cooking the potatoes and fish completely. My husband suggested trying couscous or lentils in place of potatoes next time, just to change it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMMYIM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta Fagioli

Watch how to make this top-rated recipe.

Puerto Rican Codfish Stew

What's cooking in Allentown? Milly's authentic stew.

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States