Bourtheto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
I love this recipe! I found it on allrecipes last winter and then lost it. Because of the funky name, it was just about impossible to find again, and I was so excited to come across it recently. This is a great winter dinner - I use just one big skillet which makes cleanup so simple. The simmering always takes longer than I remember, but it fills the house with a great smell and everyone is so eager to eat when ready. A few variations: I don't grate the tomatoes, just chop since they cook down so much anyway. I definitely do remove the lid and let simmer down, and I love the potatoes after mashed. Remember that the larger chunks your potatoes are in, the longer the cooking process will be. I've also added black and red beans to the tomato/onion mixture. I've used both fresh and frozen fish fillets (pollock, cod, want to try catfish) and they work equally well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
I loved this! I used a white fish called turbot, recommended at the seafood counter, and substituted 1/2 white cooking wine for 1/2 of the water. Next time I will make the potato wedges thinner because they definitely didn't cook enough in 20 minutes and I worried about overcooking the fish while waiting for the potatoes to be ready. I am hoping to get some questions answered. First, in the description of the recipe, there is mention of lots of parsley, but parsley is not in the list of ingredients, nor is there any mention of adding it in the instructions. Second, and less importantly, the recipe says to cook the onion and tomato in half of the olive oil, but I don't see where the rest of the olive oil is used. Any answers or thoughts are appreciated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bbcmelbourne
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
I agree with some of the other comments...thinner wedges so it cooks a bit quicker and also to take the lid off to reduce some of the juice. I used New Zealand lemon sole and added more garlic, it turned out really tasty and I have submitted a photo of the dish as there was none posted when I cooked it. There is a querie from someone else who posted a review regarding what to do with the parsely....I just ripped it up and put it on top of dish when serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bbcmelbourne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
Very good! I found that four medium potatoes were more than enough, and the top-most potatoes didn't get cooked all the way through even with an extra 20 minutes of cooking. Next time I might cook the potatoes for a bit before putting in the fish, as the cod fillets made it harder to stir the stew. Still, a great recipe overall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew Perrett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pacifica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I would like to rate this recipe higher, but it is so poorly written that I just can't. Heat half the oil and cook the onion and tomato? Okay. Heat/cook where? Stove or range? What heat setting? What was I supposed to do with the other half of the oil? Was I supposed to mash the potatoes for the recipe, or just with my spoon for greater eating pleasure? I followed the ingredients exactly except that I used a pound of red potatoes cut in chunks to reduce the cook time instead of 8 large potatoes, which wouldn't have fit the pot anyway. I simmered for 30 minutes. At the end, I mashed half the potato chunks with the dish uncovered and still cooking to thicken it slightly. I never figured out when to add the rest of the oil, so I never did! It came out VERY spicy, possibly because it's missing some oil. How this is only 4 servings is beyond me. It makes a ton! Tasty, simple, and comforting. I'd make it again and add a green vegetable to the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
Brilliant recipe,soooooo tasty!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I cut the ingredients in half and used Tilapia instead of Cod. I also added a bit of garlic. I served it over Orzo pasta with a salad on the side. It came out quite wonderful and everyone enjoyed it! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Woodside, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Purgirl
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
I honestly thought the recipe was just okay. Nothing amazing, however the fish was very good. I would suggest putting the potatoes in the microwave first so they cook completely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Purgirl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
This was easy, great and very filling. I used pollock instead of cod and added a little garlic. I served it with croissants and grated romano cheese. Whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evillhog

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fortuna, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Pasta Fagioli

Watch how to make this top-rated recipe.

Double Tomato Bruschetta

Make this easy, flavorful bruschetta appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States