Bourtheto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Absolutely gorgeous. The potatoes absorbed the spice of the cayenne pepper perfectly, really had that lovely little kick to them. I swapped out the cod for haddock, I admit, but was a little disappointed because it didn't absorb the flavour anywhere near as much as the potatoes did. Nonetheless, I thoroughly enjoyed this meal, and I can't wait to eat it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Torquay, Devon, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
My husband, who likes his food HOT enjoyed this. I did add a fresh cayenne pepper and 1/2 of a ghost pepper for his tastes. After reading reviews about potatoes taking longer to cook, I used the smaller white potatoes and used frozen tilapia and cod. Fresh is always better, but the frozen was what I had and it worked well with the longer cooking time allowing it to defrost while cooking the potatoes and fish completely. My husband suggested trying couscous or lentils in place of potatoes next time, just to change it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMMYIM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Use red or white boiling potatoes and they will be done (not baking potatoes). I used the food processor for the onions and tomatoes instead of grating them and that worked fine. Instead of cayenne, I used Johnny's Grub Rub sprinked on the fillets (it has cayenne in it), and put garlic salt and black pepper on the potatoes. I'll try adding a bay leaf and some herbs next time. I liked the one-pot (skillet) method and it was very good. Oh, I did research - after done, drizzle with the rest of the olive oil and sprinkle some chopped fresh parsley on top, and serve with sourdough bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARFLOWER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KM
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
My husband and I love this recipe! I have made it a few times now...tried with cod first - but then tried tilapia (which was our favorite). We eat it like a soup - adding avacado, cilantro and lime juice before eating! It is wonderful with the french bread - and we also make mexican rice with it. Sooooo good! ***I only use 1/2 the amount of potatoes (cut them up and cook them a little in the microwave first) - and just chop my tomatoes and onions instead of grating. Much easier and no difference in the taste!! : ) Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I cut the ingredients in half and used Tilapia instead of Cod. I also added a bit of garlic. I served it over Orzo pasta with a salad on the side. It came out quite wonderful and everyone enjoyed it! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Woodside, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I would like to rate this recipe higher, but it is so poorly written that I just can't. Heat half the oil and cook the onion and tomato? Okay. Heat/cook where? Stove or range? What heat setting? What was I supposed to do with the other half of the oil? Was I supposed to mash the potatoes for the recipe, or just with my spoon for greater eating pleasure? I followed the ingredients exactly except that I used a pound of red potatoes cut in chunks to reduce the cook time instead of 8 large potatoes, which wouldn't have fit the pot anyway. I simmered for 30 minutes. At the end, I mashed half the potato chunks with the dish uncovered and still cooking to thicken it slightly. I never figured out when to add the rest of the oil, so I never did! It came out VERY spicy, possibly because it's missing some oil. How this is only 4 servings is beyond me. It makes a ton! Tasty, simple, and comforting. I'd make it again and add a green vegetable to the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
Very good! I found that four medium potatoes were more than enough, and the top-most potatoes didn't get cooked all the way through even with an extra 20 minutes of cooking. Next time I might cook the potatoes for a bit before putting in the fish, as the cod fillets made it harder to stir the stew. Still, a great recipe overall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew Perrett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pacifica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
i tried this recipe twice. It is alright, but not worth trying again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ahoffort

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Purgirl
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
I honestly thought the recipe was just okay. Nothing amazing, however the fish was very good. I would suggest putting the potatoes in the microwave first so they cook completely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Purgirl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
This was a good dish, but I've had better. Maybe it was just the way I cooked it but the recipe could be better explained as well. I didn't know if I had to mash the potatoes or not, then the fish was kind of mushy, I didn't cover it like the reviews said. I didn't have enough tomatoes either. It was a good dish and I will definitely make it again, hopefully it will be closer to perfection next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Super Mami

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Pasta Fagioli

Watch how to make this top-rated recipe.

Double Tomato Bruschetta

Make this easy, flavorful bruschetta appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States