Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
I didn't have bourbon, so I used rum, and I didn't have onions or garlic, so I used powdered of both. IT WAS STILL AWESOME!!! I can't wait to try it when I have the right stuff! Spicy, smokey, sweet, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jen Pauzuolis-Hoffman
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
Making this in the crockpot for my beef short ribs. i had to make a few changes, as I discovered I was out of a few ingredients. Instead of liquid smoke, I used Kitchen Bouquet. Instead of Worcesterire sauce, I used Hoisin sauce. Instead of catsup, I used a 12oz can of tomato paste. Used cheapest whiskey available. I just mixed it all up, dumped it on the ribs and let it sit for two hours, before turning on the crockpot for 5 hours on low. Wow, the sauce is awesome. Ribs aren't cooked yet, and I'll update this after dinner, but this recipe is certainly a keeper. I can't imagine how much better it would be if I had the necessary ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
Wonderful recipe!! I made a few changes. Used 1 c of ketchup and one 8 oz can tomato sauce. I used apple cider vinegar and it was a little strong for my taste so will reduce to 1/4 c or even less next time. Added a tbsp or two of molasses and a bit more brown sugar to balance the acidity. Tip- grate the onion instead of dicing for a softer consistency (I use this technique for homemade spaghetti sauce too). Will definitely use again. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
The absolute best barbecue sauce ever!!!! The flavor is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
This is wonderful BBQ sauce! It is important to let it sit overnight as it is better after the flavors all blend. I very finely minced my onions, and left them in the sauce and will continue to do it that way, no need to remove them. My family RAVED about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKOOLGIRL_31

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
I made this sauce last year for a big family and friends bbq. I smoked a brisket with Jack Daniels whiskey barrel wood chips and provided this sauce as a condiment. Everyone loved the sauce. It complimented the smoked brisket perfectly. I'm starting another batch now. I think I'll crank it up a bit this time with just a touch more whiskey (the cheapest they make) and a bit more hot sauce (Cholula) and ground pepper. I will keep it sweet and perhaps add a teaspoon of black strap molasses for depth. I plan to back off the tomato paste by half to allow the other flavors to step up. The original recipe is a little heavy on tomato flavor as original but still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
This is now my go to recipe for BBQ sauce. I have tried using different Liquors, such as Jack Daniels, and something that said Whiskey on the bottle at my Grandfather's house. Jack Daniels was my families least favorite. Random whiskey at Grandfather's house was most favorite. Now if only I knew what I had used. Thanks for sharing recipe! I take great pride in making BBQ sauce now that I can make it myself now. Never store bought sauce in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annabisme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jackson, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
Great sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wayne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fenelon Falls, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
this is so good. we love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
I've used this recipe for ribs several times without modification and it has been just absolutely delicious. My family loved it - the only thing I did wrong was not make enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bria Anderson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 663) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States